Cancun 2!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico
June 7th 2010
Published: June 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

MeMeMe

First day in Cancun
Excitement was high! About half of the six of us had done this trip once before and we were more than ready to do it again. I know what you might be thinking - "going to Cancun isn't real traveling" - but I beg to differ. It's just a different type of traveling, and not my most favorite by any means but it has it's own special allure to it. And seeing as I'm an outgoing college student, I throughly enjoy partying when the time calls for it.

When we arrive in our hotel room me and my buddy Steve immediately take our shirts off. What's the point of being in Cancun if two strapping, young men can't enjoy the freedom of never wearing a shirt? Besides, this ups our chances of getting laid by at least 50%!i(MISSING)t's a win-win. We spend the rest of the day getting situated and eventually make our way to the pool for a bit where the drinking commences. Everyone is extremely friendly here. I'm from New York where, while there are some awesome and diverse people here, there's less friendly people than where I'm currently at in Cancun. Whenever I travel I
Me & the English dudeMe & the English dudeMe & the English dude

Why does everyone think Americans have big muscles?
seem to run into people that are very much more open-minded and friendly than what I'm used to in the general population. I have some theories for this. One is that everyone is feeling rather happy sipping on alcoholic drinks while not worrying about what's going on in the real world. The next is that people who travel generally have more open-minds in the first place which is what brought them to this point in their lives. And finally, some part of me thinks that you tend to attract what you put out. For me, this would explain why I seem to always run into people on my travels that are totally worth staying in touch with - if only to see how their life is going every few months. I personally think it's the mix of all these elements that creates such a magical spark in the people you meet. Here in Cancun, some aspects probably outweigh others as there is a lot more drinking, of course. But whatever it is, the people sure are friendlier. Even the New Yorkers are friendlier - it's refreshing.

Anyway, we continue to drink and enjoy the sun by the pool while
MeMeMe

Living free and living it up in the club on the first night
staring at gorgeous girls all day. My friend Gio (who speaks Spanish and gets the hook-ups) pulls a very rookie mistake, which we warned him about early on, and gets pretty hammered. Last year, my friend Nesto pulled this same mistake and ended up sleeping in the first night - Gio is stronger than that, a true party animal to the core. We head out for the first club of our week - Daddy'O. Gio passes out on the bus but we're confident he'll be going hard in about twenty minutes so we let him get his power-nap in.

Twenty minutes later and sure enough Gio is more excited to dance than ever before. After meeting some British dude who is obsessed with how Americans have big muscles and talking to some random American girls from Ohio, we get to see a little show on the stage which entails an extremely large, dark-skinned dude, dressed up with feathers, silver body paint, and a big tribal stick. He proclaims himself to be 'the devil' and that we should dance with him. "DANCE WITH ME!" he says before the electro-beat comes trifling in and he breaks out into a hilarious, yet
Rolando & UsRolando & UsRolando & Us

Our favorite waiter
cool, dance. All in all, this little spectacle was nothing short of amazing. A little later in the night and you can once again find me and Steve with our shirts off. By this point, the freedom, mixed with the mental confidence that my body is definitely going to up my chances of getting laid, becomes too great and leads me to believe that my shirt will be off for most of the trip.

The next morning we wake up and are strangely not very hungover. This is odd but the reason makes sense - almost every night in Cancun, on our way home from the clubs, we down endless amounts of water. Strangely, it doesn't occur to us to do this as much at home. Anyway, we head down to the sub-par buffet area of the Oasis Resort and eat to our heart's content. The food is sub-par, yes, but it's greasy and greasy is exactly what a bunch of groggy, party animals need the morning after drinking. It's also in this buffet area that we meet possibly the coolest waiter of all time - Rolando. Rolando let's us keep wine bottle after wine bottle on the table
All of usAll of usAll of us

The six of us and two friends we met
even though you're not really supposed to. And the best part is that you can tell he's just a genuinely, cool guy who likes us - in other words, he's not looking for a huge tip even though we give him some anyway. Rolando speaks no English but that's where our trusty, party-animal friend, Gio comes in handy. He acts as the translator and tells us what days he'll be working so that we can try to be in his section later in the week.

The next few days are generally the same but this doesn't make them any less fun. We all see at least five pairs of boobs a day. It's in Cancun that you really get to see how powerful mob psychology is. When a hot, drunk girl is caught in the stare of a pack of drunk, horny men, it's game over. Like they practiced it at home before they came, you hear "SHOW YOUR TITS!, SHOW YOUR TITS!" in perfect a harmony until the girl does actually show her tits to which all the men cheer loudly. I'd like to think I have a little more respect than that and abstain for the cheering,
MeMeMe

Living free once again!
but who can resist a free glimpse of boobs? I'll admit, I did get a little jealous when one of the girls I hooked up with a couple days earlier after THE CITY (a gigantic, awesome club] got convinced to show her rack. It's obviously a little odd to get jealous over that but I personally think that's just my Italian roots peaking through.

It's strange to say, but a small community of people tends to build around you when you're in Cancun. You generally see the same people everyday at the pool and this actually shapes up to be pretty cool because you get to know people - or, alternatively, you can continue to work on a hot dime that is playing hard to get (which is usually not the case in Cancun). This is what helps me to learn that the girl who I hooked up with (Lauren) is actually a pretty cool girl. Some people are made to look like whores or whatever in Cancun but, while some actually are, many are really not and are rather just letting loose for a week. This is a solid discovery because I would probably not enjoy myself as
The CrocThe CrocThe Croc

One of the nights that we were messing with this thing - while drunk of course
much if Cancun were completely filled with tools and barbie dolls.

The next few nights hold some pretty odd, scary, and strangely exciting events. It's the first and only night that we stay in and I pass out early. I wake up at about 3am to my friend Tj storming in, telling me about how some drunk, English kid tried running across the street in the pouring rain and got macked by an SUV. I'm kind of put off by this but he tells me to look outside toward the street and sure enough, I see a bunch of flashing lights. Apparently the kid slid for a very long time and was lucky it was raining because it helped smooth the ground. Tj and Gio were there almost immediately after it happened and remembered the room number that the kid's friend gave the police. The next morning we ended up calling the room because, well, we felt like it. We told the friend's buddy that we saw the accident happen and wanted to know if everything was alright. He told us that his buddy is in the hospital with, surprisingly, only a broken leg. Then out of awkwardness we
SteveSteveSteve

Steve living free
asked a very out-of-place question which was "so, what are you doing today?" Surprisingly, in a delightful English accent, he said he was going to head down to the bar and pool area soon to drink. A bit odd to be drinking in the wake of your friend getting macked by an SUV but then again, it's Cancun, so whatever floats your boat.

The other occurrence that happened that night, which I slept through, was the first interaction with the crocodile in the pond outside the resort. When I was told this story, I was pretty shocked and interested. Fortunately for me, we made 'messing with the crocodile' a nightly thing from here on out. But still, I wish I had been there for the initial encounter. I was told through verbal stories, pictures, and videos. Apparently, these coked out Aussie's had made 'messing with the crocodile' a nightly thing for the past few nights already when we finally got in on it. My friends were out by the pond when the Aussies came storming off the bus in a dead-sprint for the pond, taking off articles of clothing every few strides until they were wearing only underwear. It's not until now that I really understood the whole animal-catching stereotype that is put on a lot of Australians because of people like Steve Erwin. I seriously think it's bred into them throughout childhood. "We're gOnna catch ourselves a croco-dile!" they said multiple times. The Spanish-speaking shop owner from across the street then came over and started talking to Gio. After some mumbling and nodding, Gio turned and said "He says one bite and that's it, you're arms gone" to which the Aussie's said "who caaaareeeesss". I guess everyone truly does have a care-free attitude while in Cancun. One more mumble and nod and Gio turned again to say "He says that if we tip him, he can get the crocodile to come out of the water". Immediately, one of the Aussies turned and said "Tip yoouuuuu? You should be tipping meeee! I'm gOnna be catching the fookin' thing!" These exchanges contributed to a good portion of the jokes we carried with us throughout the rest of the trip.

Although the party scene is the highlight of Cancun, the scenery is not something to be missed. I've began to love photography and it has given me a special eye
SunriseSunriseSunrise

The Cancun sunrise taken by Gio
for beautiful views throughout the world. Every smart veteran Cancun-er knows that from 5ish-8ish it is nap/rest time or else you will not be able to go out at night. It's at this time that I often liked to go out of the deck and watch the beautiful sunset as I slowly came down from my drunk. There's something awesome about sunsets. Everywhere you go in the world, you're essentially watching the same sunset but yet, it's different. Maybe there's a different glow about it, or maybe the water's reflection is making it look especially beautiful, or maybe a certain tree creates an interesting scene - whatever it is, I love it and so does my camera. The last night in Cancun me and Steve go out with these two girls, Jenny and Tina, who are both beyond awesome girls - and ones who we still keep in touch with. After the club, we head down to the pool at about 3am and lay on some lawn chairs. We spend the next couple of hours chatting about life - real life. But while this chat may be be a realization that we're going back to reality soon, it's not a
SunriseSunriseSunrise

Another Cancun sunrise taken by Gio..the man on the right has his headphones on and is dancing the morning away in his own little, probably drugged, world (it's 5:30am)..still pretty beautiful and interesting though.
bad one. In fact, it's a good chat. I think the reason for this is because all four of us are really cool people and it's fun to hear each other's stories. 5am creeps up on us and the sun begins to rise. While I've seen many Cancun sunsets, I've never seen a Cancun sunrise. The sight is beautiful. Gio had stayed up all night as well and managed to get an awesome picture of it on his phone. This was the perfect way to end an awesome trip. I never ended up even kissing Tina (she had a man back home) but it didn't matter. Meeting her was enough for me. It's not everyday that you meet awesome people and it's important to cherish it. The next morning before we checked out, we tipped Rolando again and gave him Gio's NY Yankees hat that we knew he liked (and had no intention of getting). He was beyond thrilled and walked away with a huge smile on his face - he deserves it.

All in all, Cancun was an awesome trip and I hope some of you readers get to see how Cancun can be fun and not all
Tina & ITina & ITina & I

Our last night..watching the sunrise
about the fake stuff. So much happened in one week that it's hard to recall it all and I had to cut corners. I think it's important to give an honorable mention to Coco Bongo, which was our favorite club. I'd also like to say that the beach was awesome as well as our constant joking with each other. Ok, I'll stop now because I can probably find a bunch of other stuff to write about. My next blog will mostly likely come in couple months when I go to New Hampshire with my family. This is a much, much, MUCH, more laid-back trip but its got its own appeal. After that, I'm off to study abroad in Rome, Italy where I will be doing a whole bunch of traveling as well as much more blogging.

Until next time!

Advertisement



26th June 2010

Sweet
Good blog dude enjoyed reading it at my fucking desk at work. Live it up while you can its down hill after school!!!
28th July 2010

thanks for checking my blog
nice to see more crazy drunken messes like me on this blog. and also from ny...we gotta rep our state
9th October 2010

i love to work with u guys
i study business administration an d i have good looking if u need a picture just let me know , kno im leaving in states but i can leave in mexico

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb