Yucatan, Mexico


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Valladolid
February 26th 2014
Published: February 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I am excited to be blogging again about my travels. Yesterday was a long travel day. I flew from Portland to Cancun, Mexico via Dallas-Fort Worth airport. I flew business class again, but neither leg of the journey was very long, so there really wasn't much difference from flying coach. I arrived at Cancun aeropuerto around 8:00pm and spent the night at an airport hotel. This morning I was up early and took a taxi to the downtown bus station. Everyone to this point - at the airport, at the hotel, the taxi driver - spoke good English, but I had to rely on my very limited Spanish to buy the bus ticket to Valladolid. I had practiced specific phrases beforehand, so it really went quite smoothly. The bus was nice. Generally I dislike bus travel, but this one had reclining seats, individual vents for the air conditioning, and they even showed movies. I didn't watch the movies, but instead looked at the scenery or napped during the 2 1/2 hour ride. The Yucatan peninsula, as far as I can see, is very flat and very lush. You can get some idea of it from the picture I took. We arrived in Valladolid around 11:00 am and it was already hot and humid. I rolled my suitcase to the hotel three blocks away and was not the only tourist out there with luggage. I went out to lunch and ordered the "traditional plate" which I guess is typical Yucatan fare. It certainly tasted good. I walked around town after lunch and stopped in at a tour agency to arrange tours for the next two days. The whole reason I am in Valladolid is to see the Mayan ruins - there are two good ones within easy driving distance of here. I walked over to Cenote Zaci, a sunken freshwater pool that was the center of this town before the Spanish arrived. I understand that the native Maya continue to refer to the city of Valladolid as "Zaci" to this day. I had a beer overlooking the pool and watched the people swimming. There were locals and tourists alike down there and there was also a daredevil who dove in from near the top of the cliff. Afterward I walked around the center of town and admired the trees and the fountain in the shady central plaza.. It is great to be traveling again and I look forward to further adventures that I will share with you on this blog.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.28s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb