Hatmaking at the beach


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Progreso
January 15th 2010
Published: January 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Progesso is about a half hour drive to the coast, from Merida. On a nice hot January day we decided to venture to the beach in our rental car. It was an easy drive due north of the city, through scrub land featuring palmetto fronds and brush. The landscape here is very flat, and the flatness continues beyond the shore. Indeed, Progresso has what is said to be the world's longest pier, at 4 miles. But it is no longer walkable, due to 'national security.' The pier is so long because the depth of the water remains too shallow for shipping, closer to shore.

The seawater of the Gulf isn't very attractive here — mostly turbulent and lacking that gorgeous blue of the Caribbean beaches. Progresso seems a nice enough beach community, aside from its water deficit. Foot traffic along the boardwalk bustles. There are palapas to shade those who wish to sit for lunch or refreshments. And there are all manner of peddlers, selling everything from Chinese toys to beachwear and hammocks. We even saw beachcomber hats being offered.

Mary and I went for a stroll to watch the tourists milling about. Near the pier we noticed a guy making those beachcomber hats from unsplit palm fronds. So we stopped to chat with this fellow hatmaker. His name is Jorge. I gave him the address to this site, but then didn't post this until after I got home. Hi Jorge! I hope you were able to visit. I wish I would have had time to study with you. I'd love to learn to make those hats, not to mention the Panamas of Becal. Maybe next trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Lunch arrivesLunch arrives
Lunch arrives

Apparently the local fish shacks deliver.
A topless palapaA topless palapa
A topless palapa

Wooo, wooo.
JorgeJorge
Jorge

Two hatmakers in fellowship. (I gave him a NT after buying one of his hats. He was already wearing a cross.)


15th January 2010

HATS "3" (cubed)
Wasn't aware of the hat concept/creativity so abundant inthe world. Waiting to see / read about the next trip! Thanks ~E~ + ~M~ Shawn
25th February 2010

travelling
I am always looking for the best travel sites out there so I was very glad that I found this site. Out of all the online travel sites I have seen, this one where offers good tips, news and photos. Glad I found it. Keep travelling on.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb