Day 10 - Merida


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
July 8th 2013
Published: July 14th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Additional maps: Untitled

CenotesCenotesCenotes

Cenotes
We all had to get up early to do the cenotes excursion and everyone in the group wanted to do this. There are 14 of us in total within the group; 5 Australians, 4 Brits (including me) 1 American and 4 Belgium’s. It is a good mix and I am starting to feel like I am getting to know everyone.

The first cenotes we visited we were unable to swim in it as it was closed off, but we were able to take some good photos and also got to see some Mayan villages. I took a picture of this Mayan lady who kept smiling and she seemed surprised that I wanted a photo of her. Anyway I gave her a 10 peso tip and this seemed to make her very happy.

When we got to the second cenotes, we were able to swim in there. The water was so clean and quite refreshing when the temperature outside was so hot, it was really nice and relaxing to be swimming in there.

After swimming in the cenotes, we went to a factory that chopped up a certain type of tree and they were able to make ropes from
Mayan LadyMayan LadyMayan Lady

Mayan Lady
it for ships all around the world. We were able to get something to eat there as well and I had this delicious caramel flan. After a couple of hours of looking around the factory, we headed back to Merida.

I had some hours to kill in Merida so uploaded photos to Facebook and then I went to the laundry place as my clothes hadn’t arrived after handing them in that morning. When I got to the laundry place they were still washing my clothes but guaranteed that my clothes would be at the hotel by the end of the day, this was a relive as almost all of my clothes were in the wash with them.



In the evening I had a meal with the group and then a couple of beers.

Good news, my clothes did arrive in the end


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Me at the factoryMe at the factory
Me at the factory

Me at the factory


Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 35; qc: 138; dbt: 0.1151s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb