Ahhhhh. Back in Merida, Yucatan


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
April 13th 2011
Published: April 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

One of the performers
Vacation and I opted for the Yucatan - again. Friend, Phyllis, came along with me. She too is now totally in love with Merida and everything about it.

Stayed where I always stay at the Hotel Mucuy in Centro. Ms. Ophelia owns the Mucuy, is a wonderful person and has a beautiful small establishment.

The airport is under construction for new additions, has more shops in it and was open at 9:30 pm (the shops and snack / drink places that is). Things were even open at 5:30 am when we left a week later. Amazing,

After landing, we were not that tired and were excited to be there so off to our room to deposit suitcases and down the block to my favorite two restaurant & bars.

Phyllis ate the salsa even though I warned her it was hot. She doesn’t do spicy hot foods. About the fifth bite she got a hot one. I didn’t laugh but grinned widely.

And like the gringa tourist, she overpaid for two hand held fans before I knew.

My usual waiter friends were at both Cafe Leon Contrelas and La Paranda. No employee turnovers in this area.
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

More new friends, Bonnie and Johnny


On Tuesday, our first full day, we took in a lot of Centro including the Governor’s Palace, a lot of artisan shops where Phyllis bought souvenirs, ate, had cool refreshments and met new friends. Just a normal vacation in a tropical historic city. Picked up a few things we needed in the room, then to rest and regroup and then out we went again!

We never ventured out of Centro so Phyllis didn’t get to meet some of my friends or visit Progreso. There’s so much to see and do in Centro that we were busy and making yet more new friends.

Phyllis is very hot natured and it is very hot there with frequent breezes. She toughed it out for three days before calling UNCLE and we changed to a room with air conditioning. Only one day did we ask the temperature and it was 110 F according to my cell phone. I learned later more like 104.

We found a new bar with botonas and a lot of ceiling fans for Phyllis on Thursday. We (or rather Phyllis) bought more stuff then siesta time in our now air conditioned room. That evening we walked
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

My long time friends, Guillo and Maria Jose aka Jo and new friend, Antonio
to Santa Lucia park for the 9:00 pm Trova performance. So much is free to the public here!

Friday we were searching for our newest bar with me warning Phyllis of each uneven pavement. She wasn’t paying attention to me but looking all around her at the sights when she stepped in a rough place and twisted her ankle. Taxi immediately pulled over and we rode the two blocks back to the hotel.

With her foot in the pool, an ice pack from Ms, Ophelia and me bringing her cool adult beverages she was ready to go out again! I made her stay in the rest of the day to rest the foot.

My friends Jo (Maria Jose) and Guillo came to visit us that night and we met a new friend staying at the hotel. It was a very late night but so were most all of our evenings.

Jo returned on Saturday and Phyllis declared herself fit enough to walk / limp. Here we went! Food, drink and another late night.

Sunday we again walked downtown to see the weekend (free) festival and the party was on! We met new friends this time
Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

I told Phyllis this was hot. Did she believe me? Not until her fifth bite!
too. Jo met us again on Sunday night to visit and say our goodbyes since we were leaving at 4:00 am the next morning (she is not a morning person). We had packed for our return before she arrived so that we would have thing done for the dash to the taxi.

After two hours sleep, we were somehow dressed and ready when the taxi showed up early.

Don’t worry Merida and my friends. I will return again and again and eventually live there.

Enjoy the pictures and visit Merida. Although technically Mexico, it is 1400 miles from the border of Texas and even the residents will tell you, it is Not Mexico, it is the Yucatan!



Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

Wall art at La Paranda
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

Painter at 10:30 at night when it is cooler
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

Prices are in pesos
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

Pretty there isn't it?
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

Front of La Paranda
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

Just across the street
Photo 22Photo 22
Photo 22

Weekend vendors
Photo 23Photo 23
Photo 23

No, I didn't buy it
Photo 24Photo 24
Photo 24

Art gallery area
Photo 25Photo 25
Photo 25

Clean up people on the street
Photo 26Photo 26
Photo 26

Big box to carry
Photo 27Photo 27
Photo 27

This is Ms. Ophelia, a beautiful person and owner of the Hotel Mucuy
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

Pool at our Hotel Mucuy
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

Coconut tree
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

Courtyard and rooms of Hotel Mucuy
PhyllisPhyllis
Phyllis

At the restaurant next door to the hotel
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

Yes, it's a wall of beer


14th April 2011

Glad you are having fun.
Patt, great to see that you are enjoying yourslef again! I am working for ExxonMobil in Thailand at the moment. It is exotic here. Thai men are in short supply and so we ex-pats are sought as extra good catches. I have all ready been told that I do not have to be married all the time! Me! Boy are they desperate here! Of course, I immediately changed the subject. The women are so small I do not want to hurt anyone! I know what you are say "Ya, right!". Leave for home tomorrow after two months here. The second thing I will do when I get home will be to put down my luggage. Miss you, Jeff.
17th April 2011

It's about time
It seemed as if you'd dropped off the face of the earth. Not a blog to be read. Glad to read things went well.
20th April 2011

Back in Southeast Texas
Good to hear from you too, my friend! Haven't had anything worth blogging about - travel wise - til now. Well, I do have some adventures from last summer that I haven't put on here. I will in time. Life is good!
20th April 2011

Vacation
Patt, Loved your description and all your photos. Jeane
21st April 2011

Hi, stranger!
Come with me sometime! I know I need to come see you! Email me!

Tot: 0.31s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 59; dbt: 0.1035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb