Mexicans love a party.


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
February 14th 2007
Published: February 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

MeridaMeridaMerida

Locals partying
We arrived in Merida for party month! Whether this was just an excuse to dance a lot and listen to a lot of music or whether it genuinely was an official anniversary of something, I never found out, I just liked the idea of celebrating for a whole month!

You couldn't go to any Zocollo (main plaza) without some sort of live music playing and folk dancing. And it wasn't really the young who were out shaking their butt, it was Mum and Dad, Grandma and Grandpa. And they weren't shy.

Also it was great to see that alcohol wasn't needed. People were relaxed just to be in each others company, enjoyment was had in the old fashioned wholesome way. Shared. Out in the open, for all to see creating a fantastic communal atmosphere.

There was absolutely no pretension, pure pleasure was had in wiggling your body around to music, regardless of whether you knew what to do with your limbs. I mean, I saw an assortment of moves - pelvic thrusts, shoulder shimmies, varieties of the moonwalk and some not strictly within the dance genre - the star jump, the basket ball throw and dunk! Nobody cared
MeridaMeridaMerida

Traditional folklore dancers
about being cool, or what someone might say, they just responded to the music and wiggled together! Fantastic.

Amongst all this partying and during my time in Mexico, I noticed that a lot of Mexican have gold or silver capped teeth. Is it a result of their diet? A fashion thing? Or is it just cheaper than porcelain?

So, this is the time when I need to reflect as I fear it will be my last entry for a while.

I've always been hyper-critical of my own culture. We always judge those things closest to us the most harshly (my poor family are acutely aware of this!) and so, it's with an open mind I go back to England.

The consumerism and vanity, the accummulation of wealth without regard, and the aggressive individualism upset me the most, but I can see that England also offers up more and good things so, I'm already starting to see it differently.

Before I left the UK, two years ago, I was given a Dr Suess book called "Oh, the places you'll go." And, I have gone to some far away places, I have experienced the highs and the
MeridaMeridaMerida

A free event with a brilliant atmosphere.
lows, and I can say now to you too:

"Today is your day!
Your mountain is waiting.
So...get on your way!"




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

MeridaMerida
Merida

The staple food - corn
ProgresoProgreso
Progreso

The 6km long concrete pier.
ProgresoProgreso
Progreso

Abandoned boat at the quieter end of the beach.
ProgresoProgreso
Progreso

The lone mariachi.
Isla MujeresIsla Mujeres
Isla Mujeres

My last day in Mexico, my last memories of the sunny caribbean and I got a storm. This is me trying to ignore it is very windy and cold.


20th February 2007

Tolerance
I'm glad it's helped you to be more tolerant of your own country.

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 19; qc: 77; dbt: 0.0812s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb