Nashville - Tucson - Hermosillo


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Sonora » Hermosillo
August 3rd 2010
Published: August 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

To Hermosillo

My route to Hermosillo

I do not know how to start this or where to go from there. I got on a plane in Nashville the other day and ended up in Tucson, AZ. I had heard nice things about Tucson but I needed to keep heading south. A $12 shuttle ride got me to Nogalas and I walked across the border. I was tired and thought about finding a room in Nogalas but, with plenty of daylight still left, I decided to keep going.

It got dark about an hour before the bus got to Hermosillo. Some kid outside the bus station found me a taxi and I told the driver to take me to the Hotel Washington, not your traditional sounding Mexican hotel. It was pushing 10 pm but seemed much later since the side streets the taxi was speeding down had no street lights. The Hotel looked closed but the doors with the black tinted windows opened to a dark lobby, which was in some sort of a courtyard, though there was no dirt for anything to grow. The lobby was covered but the rest of the first floor was open to the sky.

"No sencilla" the man behind the glass told me, "doble" he pointed to on the sign. I agreed. I then turned to the taxi driver who I had follow me inside because I wanted to make sure they had a room for me before the taxi left me on some side street in Hermosillo without a room. The doble cost me $240...pesos, which was just under twenty bucks, but, he pointed out to me, no TV, which was fine with me since I can not watch Mexican TV since I do not speak Spanish.

At first I thought the room had no ac since the screened window was open to the faux courtyard and the door had screened vents. Basic, two beds with thin, brightly colored spreads (faded), no lamps or desk, just wall lights and a shelf firmly bolted to the wall. It was not until I fell on a bed, me drenched in sweat and exhausted from my day of going, that I saw the cheaply-rigged ceiling vents and felt the slightly cool air falling down onto me. Though still hot, I soon stopped sweating and drifted off to sleep.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb