The Mayan Riviera


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Riviera Maya
January 4th 2012
Published: January 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

FROM THE PLANE ...I AM NOT SURE WHERE THE HORIZON STARTS AND ENDS AND/OR IF IT IS WATER OR SKY...BUT I LIKED IT
By popular demand...

Friends and family have asked why I haven't sent a blog on my Mexican travels before Christmas and I really didn't have an answer ... partly it was the lose of my photos , which were later returned to me thank goodness , and partly the CHristmas season and all the activity that goes with that . Sooooo here is a bit of a rundown of those two weeks .



It started in Tulum at the Dreams Tulum Resort where a nephew was to be married to a lovely young woman from B.C. A great event with 54 people in attendance . Most had a week to lay about and enjoy the service offered at a 1st class all-inclusive resort . Good food , beach , bar , company and a variety of activities to keep everyone entertained . We all had great books to read also and the wedding was lovely . We all danced until the wee hours , drank a little bit too much and had a great deal of fun .
I had itchy feet though so I only stayed at the resort for 5 days . I spent the
TULUM BEACHTULUM BEACHTULUM BEACH

GREAT BEACH , ONE COULD WALK FOR MORE THAN AN HOUR IN A NORTHERLY DIRECTION. BEAUTIFUL FIRM SAND BUT VERY FEW SHELLS.
remaining 9 days exploring those places I had heard of for years . COzumel (4 days) , Puerto Morelos ( 2 days)and Isla Mujeres (3 days ). What a thrill ! Packing ,organizing myself and my luggage efficiently , figuring out how to get to the city...the ferry...the city...the bus station...the cab stand... the joy of planning. organizing and accomplishing the tasks. It is an adventure that leaves me felling that my survival skills are in tact.A good feeling . The following photos will tell the story better than just the words.


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

AT THE RUINSAT THE RUINS
AT THE RUINS

THE SEA WAS SUCH AN AMAZING COLOUR
RUINSRUINS
RUINS

THE ONLY SEA CITY OF THE MAYANS.IMPRESSIVE
THE JUNGLETHE JUNGLE
THE JUNGLE

IT IS A JUNGLE
RESORT FOUNTAINRESORT FOUNTAIN
RESORT FOUNTAIN

BY THE POOL.IT WAS A BEAUTIFUL RESORT AND THEY TOOK VERY GOOD CARE OF US.
FERRY RIDE TO COZUMELFERRY RIDE TO COZUMEL
FERRY RIDE TO COZUMEL

ONE CAN SEE PLAYA DEL CARMEN IN THE DISTANCE
SAN MIGUEL COZUMELSAN MIGUEL COZUMEL
SAN MIGUEL COZUMEL

MAKING TORTILLAS
Discover MexicoDiscover Mexico
Discover Mexico

I found this theme park outside of town on Cozumel . It has models of indiginous peoples ruins as well as examples of the 17th and 18th C architecture of the Spanish. This is Palenque which I visited 4 years ago.
Chac MulChac Mul
Chac Mul

Further down the road was Chankanaab and it has it all . Sea creatures , beaches, scuba diving, gardens and statuary from various ruins/eras.
Nice Guy!Nice Guy!
Nice Guy!

I don't remember his name
Nor hisNor his
Nor his

His backside was equally interesting
Punta SurPunta Sur
Punta Sur

Wonder place. The sea was crashing and the Strawberry Margarita was VEry GOOD.
Same placeSame place
Same place

A quarter turn changed the view . This is at the southern end of the island
San GervaisSan Gervais
San Gervais

Cozumel was dedicated to the goddess of fertilty , Ichtel , and this Mayan arch remains at the ruins where pilgrims came to pray .
Her TempleHer Temple
Her Temple

Quarrying and moving those rocks around was a dedication in itself.
San Miguel graveyardSan Miguel graveyard
San Miguel graveyard

All burials are above ground and well cared for
Sunset on the CaribbeanSunset on the Caribbean
Sunset on the Caribbean

Great restaurant on the waterfront . Again a Strawberry Margurita this time watching the cruise ships LEAVE the island.
Ferry into Playa del CArmenFerry into Playa del CArmen
Ferry into Playa del CArmen

This is not somewhere I would stay ... it is NOT Mexico.
Caribean WaterCaribean Water
Caribean Water

The colours are amazing! I really don't understand the Why (?)
Puerto MorelosPuerto Morelos
Puerto Morelos

This lighthouse was a victim of the hurricane in the mid 90's


6th January 2012

Wonderful.
Beautiful scenery. Good for you. Glad you had a good trip. Tks for sharing. Where? Is next on your agenda?
6th January 2012

Thanks for sharing these, Pam. I feel like I've just had a winter vacation.
7th January 2012

Fun
Looks like you are having a great time. What a beautiful part of the world...reminds me of Panama!
7th January 2012

Good to hear from you Leigh ... you're right I did have fun . It had been 19months since I had been exploring ... it must be something in my bones that urges me on .
7th January 2012

Happy new year and happy 61st birthday
You look great and it looks like you found a wonderful place to celebrate the end of the first year of this new decade in your life. Ilsa Mujeres is such a beautiful place. Too bad about its proximity to Cancun.
7th January 2012

Loved the photos, especially the sunset! Hope you had a great time!

Tot: 0.338s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb