Prior to Heading To Mexico


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Puerto Morelos
April 28th 2009
Published: April 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hola,

When my friend Sarah and her fiancée Dylan got engaged last year, they decided to have a destination wedding in Mexico. I really didn't think I'd be able to attend, since it was a) in Mexico, b) during the school year and c) not on one of our breaks from class. However, back in December, my girlfriend CC and I talked about it and decided this was an opportunity that we just couldn't pass up. So we found flights on Delta and booked our reservation and then we waited for what seemed like four years, rather than just four months.

In the meantime, the all-inclusive resort where Sarah and Dylan had booked their wedding package - Azul Fives, a brand-new place that was supposed to open in January - experienced some delays and management realized it couldn't open in time for April (much less January). So Sarah and Dylan's travel agent got the whole magilla switched to another resort, Azul Sensatori, which is owned by the same group. Two good things about that - we guests didn't have make any changes at all to our itineraries, we all were upgraded to jacuzzi suites (!!!) and we'd all be given a $200 credit to be used at the new resort.

So as late April approached, CC and I did all the things you do before going to a wedding on a beach in Mexico - we bought light, airy clothes; we bought sunscreen; we bought new shoes; we worked on our "base tan" so as not to burn up in that tropical sun; we did some research on stuff to do while down there, even though we wouldn't have too much time for off-site activities.

I'd never been to this part of Mexico before (CC had been to Cancún in high school), nor had I ever been to an all-inclusive resort. So I really didn't know what to expect, but I did have some expectations of what the weekend would be like. I'll make note of all that as I review the four days down there. So hold on - two more updates are on their way!

Hasta pronto,
Kev

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0793s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb