Finding Beauty Everywhere...


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Puerto Aventuras
January 31st 2016
Published: January 31st 2016
Edit Blog Post

"Let's find a beautiful place to get lost"... ~

I sort of feel like I've been blind-folded, then spun around, and then put before my computer to write a blog & try and remember what we did and when.

Sitting outside on the terrace on Domingo (Sunday) having a coffee, and watching the sunrise at 7:30 a.m. almost on the dot. A little sliver of apricot was hiding behind a cloud, and it was over quick. When the cloud moved there was the sun's round face in all her glory smiling at me.

I'm trying to type up the blog in some timeline, so between pictures and pretending that I'm having a chat with mom on the phone (which makes it easier to put it in some format) I hope it all comes together. (My Mom loves the blogs, but aren't moms supposed to say that?) You too can read along if you've nothing better to do such as watching paint dry 😊

The mornings have been cool since we've gotten here, to the point of wearing a sweatshirt when you get up and go out, but around 10ish, you start to really feel the heat. We've stayed well-hydrated (no, not with margaritas, with H2O) and plenty of sunblock. But this morning there was a great change in the air. It was going to be humid. And I refuse to tell you any "How hot is it jokes?" Well maybe just one later 😉

TULUM

Our day in Tulum was outstanding. We avoided the high cost of a taxi to get there, and took the bus system, which is very different than the one at home in the sense that they are called Colectivos, and they are well-marked along the busy highway, and used by both tourists and locals alike. They are white vans, with a/c, and the one we got on, seats around 14 people, and it was brand spanking new. To get there, approximately 40 minutes away, cost us a mere 40 pesos each, which translates to approx. $3.00 CDN. Now that's an amazing deal. We got off with other tourists who were going to the same place, although you can start at the ancient ruins and then enjoy all the beaches, beach bars, restaurants and shops as you go both north and south.

Just to get from the main highway (307) to the ocean & the beach bars is about 10km, so if you go you may want to plan to take a taxi. Now to get to the ruins, it's not exactly walkable from the 307, so we took a cab as it was fairly hot and we were carrying our backpacks. I've been to Tulum before but Al hadn't so I wanted him to experience as much as he could.

The cliff-side ruins nestled 12 meters off the ground, as previously mentioned are amazing. They hug the rugged coastline, and stand watch over the shimmering jade-green Caribbean and stunning white soft beaches that leave you with your mouth hanging open. (Not a good look by the way). As mentioned, pics of these ruins may very well be the most taken picture to represent the area.

However, they tend to be swarming with tourists so you have to plan to get there early as it's a dog & pony show. Every cruise ship that docks in Cozumel has a day trip to Tulum planned, along with every resort from Cancun to Tulum so it can be very packed. In turn once you spend any time with obnoxious pushy tourists, you don't question why those ancient Mayans were into human sacrifice. 😉 I admit to not being patient with arrogant pushy tourists. (Should I tell you how I really feel?)

Since our girls have been young, we've been teaching them etiquette & further, good travel etiquette. It makes for a better travel experience for all, but some people never got that lesson. Starting with use your manners - be polite, don't cut a line, don't be pushy, and don't walk in front of someone taking a picture of ancient ruins. Do you really think we came all this way to get your face in our picture? Some of these people are so clueless if they threw a rock at the ground they'd miss. In other words, while the world is really big, it can be really small when we're all jockeying for a position. So let's all play well together. I am proud of my restraint - no tourist 'accidentally' tumbled off the cliff...Al complimented me on my extreme composure 😊

There are moments in your life when you are so taken aback by something you see/read/hear, and history has a way of reminding us how very small and unimportant we are in this big pulsing world. And seeing ancient ruins and understanding how a people lived so many centuries ago is a moving experience. I won't go more into detail; read my last blog. If you go there, take your bathing suit and a towel to enjoy the beautiful beach below the ruins. Bring some pesos for entrance/tipping for a tour guide. Wear some good walking shoes, bring water & get there early.

Tulum's beaches are absolutely stunning and there's a reason why they've been named some of the world's best beaches, and written up in travel magazines. We spent some time walking along them, as given where we are staying has a rocky limestone shore, it was nice to walk for a long distance with our toes in the crystal-clear waters. We stopped at a beach cafe that looked built up on stilts, so up up we went expecting an eco-friendly little spot, but it was actually stunning with big cozy couches, long tables & some classic jazz playing. We sat for a while and noticed a big group landing in, so off we went to the next location. There we had a tasty drink and lunch, up on a beautiful bamboo deck perched over the beach where we enjoyed watching the white caps roll in, with people of all ages body surfing with looks of complete joy on their faces. I enjoyed chicken pibil cooked slowly in banana leaves with onions & peppers, and then served with grilled plantain & arroz (Spanish for rice). The two opposite flavors of the spicy peppers with the sweet softness of the plantain came together in perfect harmony.

After lunch we went walking the shoreline, holding hands & feeling a sense of lightness and well-being. We found a quiet spot, and claimed a day bed under an umbrella at another seaside cafe. Al was ready to tackle the ocean & off he went to body surf. There he was swimming like a fiend when the waves rolled in and tumbled him along. I enjoyed a magazine, while watching Al bounce along the waves. After a few hours of this, we noticed a few clouds moving in, so it was time to get back to the main highway and take a colectivo home. As luck would have it as we got dropped off at
the highway from taking a cab from the beach, a taxi driver approached us and another couple, offering to take us right to PA for the same cost of taking the bus. What luck! So we were home in no time flat.

NATURE AT ITS BEST

We've been really enjoying exploring wildlife and nature here. Iguanas, butterflies, birds, flowers, trees, plants, ancient ruins, and the various bodies of water. There is a new golf course going in at the southern end of this community, and so we've taken our golf cart and explored it a few times. You see many tourists/ex-pats jogging, biking and walking the area as it's so beautiful and quiet. There are a few nature paths which we've hiked, and have taken loads of pictures. Yesterday we were walking the path expecting to see a small lagoon or two, and as we walked this palm tree/jungle laden path all of a sudden we come to a clearing. OMG, it was this huge water type of cove (caleta in Spanish) that resembles a lagoon, that opened to the ocean. It was unexpected, and it gave us the same feeling of joy I expect if you're wandering the desert, and come upon a beautiful oasis. The beauty of it took my breath away as the water is so pristine and clear. We were like little kids finding a new pond to splash in 😊

We saw a few people snorkeling but otherwise as we suspected most people don't know about it (so don't tell a soul!) There was a security guard there that seemed to be taking his job seriously but he took a liking to me, letting us stay longer, wander around and take pictures of an ancient Mayan house. It was a really nice discovery & we'll go back.

On the way back home we stopped to take photos of the flowers which are just so very exceptional here. And I spotted a lime tree and right next to it, was a banana tree. Talk about being one with nature here...

We've enjoyed such hospitality from the people who work in this neck of the woods, but that's why we've enjoyed Mexico for years. I enjoy their warmth, their wicked sense of humor, their love of family, and their hospitality. We've been surprised with a round of drinks and food on the house here and there, and are so tickled to be always remembered and welcomed back to the bars and restaurants with mucho gusto.

Yesterday we stopped at this little French Bistro and asked for a cheese plate to go. They went out of their way to pack us a beautiful lunch of 5 cheeses - a blue cheese, a triple Brie, Camembert, a semi hard goat cheese and a Spanish manchego cheese. This came with some chorizo salami, regular salami, capicolla ham & aged prosciutto, green olives, walnuts, freshly baked baguette and handmade butter. I tell you this not only because I love food, but also to share that we got all that for $10 CDN. Aye carumba! But most of all it was the warm care they took to make sure we had everything we needed for a lunch on our deck. Gracias to them.

Outside their door in a beautiful courtyard was a Farmer's Market where we bought some fresh limes and apples. We've been enjoying the raspberries here immensely; they are so sweet, plump and juicy. We got back to our terrace and had Vicki from Dallas join us for lunch. She's a wonderful conversationalist, and we enjoyed hearing about her life experiences as well. All in all - great food & great company.

On different days both Al & I have had too much sun. Not sunburned but perhaps a slight bit of heat stroke with all the traveling around we've been doing on this golf cart. One day after being out, Al lay down at 5PM and didn't get up till the next morning (and he hardly had any beer that day...poor guy!) I kept waking him but he just wanted to sleep as he had a headache & chills. So off I went with the golf cart down to hear (again) the most amazing Latin guitarists that we've ever heard in our life before. (We'd heard them on Weds night a few days before & I don't think we said a word to each other the entire time this couple played). Mesmerizing.

They are a husband and wife duo named Dueto Candilejas, who apparently met at a music school as kids, and now play music part time in bars & hail from Chiapas MX. There are almost no words to describe how they can play so harmoniously. They both play acoustic guitars, and while she strums he does the magic. Picture Carols Santana, Tuck Andress, George Benson, Joe Pass and so on & so forth.

They play all the standards, jazz favorites, Bossa Nova, all with a beautiful Latin sound. The other night they did such a rousing version of Hotel California, that in the middle of the song everyone got up and clapped and toasted Glenn Frey. I felt I was at one of the best, yet most intimate concerts of my life, listening to a maestro caress his guitar while the rest of us stared on in silence with goosebumps. Music makes everyone smile...it brings us together no matter our language & culture. It lifts us out of a bad mood or situation, and it heightens a good situation (party time). Music is THE best therapy and boy did we find it with this spectacular talented duo.

I was sitting there by the bar enjoying it all, and I ended up meeting this woman Dee who now lives here after losing her husband about 12 years before. What a very interesting lady. We enjoyed the music and chatting, and I was a gentleman and offered her a ride home on my golf cart. While I missed Al's company, I took the opportunity to partake in a beautiful evening on my own...

"If music be the food of love, play on..." ~

*Funny highlights

Al & I have sat in the natural lagoon whirlpools a few times & a few days ago I brought down my towel with my sandals & camera, although Al cautioned against us. (Perhaps the sun got to me). I put them up on a higher level but the waves weren't too high anyhow. UNTIL we got into the salt-water whirlpool and then the ocean waves came at us & up over to where my stuff was. Yep, towel and camera got a bit wet. Next thing you know one of my sandals is floating in the lagoon, ready to go out to sea. Guess who (well don't bother guessing) had to go dive in the lagoon and rescue my shoe... (Thank you Al. My camera had to be dried, and it's now it's finally chugging along again.)

Right in the middle of the town mere steps from the marina is a resort. So we wandered in to take a look. Next thing we're at the swim up bar having a beer. They didn't seem to care or notice that we had no resort "bracelets" on. The bartender asks if we want another & we said no. He then casually asked us "which room do I charge it to?" So I poked the guy next to me and said, "Hey which room are you in & I'll use your room number"? HAHAHA! (Funny enough that guy wasn't staying there either). Now keep in mind we were told by our friend Vicki you can check out the resort and eat there but of course you will have to pay. It wasn't like we were planning on dining & dashing by pretending we were resort guests. Ahem..(We'll do that the next time though - yee haw!) 😉

I'll end this blog about a nice night - in particular last night (don't hate us).

Last night was a beautiful sunset as the lights around the pool came on and dusk fell swiftly. We heard live music coming from the resort next door. So I wander down to the end of the condo complex and it's a
huge concert going on next door at the Hard Rock. They'd set up the stage and lights/huge screen on the beach facing inwards toward the crowd . Just so you know last weekend upon our arrival they hosted country "Crash My Playa" which included music stars: Luke Bryan, Dierks Bentley, Sam Hunt, Cole Swindell etc.) I know a few of you ladies are drooling over that line up. Susan? Celine? Sherri Lynn? It was a whole weekend of music royalty.

So as I'm passing the hot tub, I realize it's bubbling and nice and hot, and might I add no one in it. SCORE! So I go get Al, we pour a drink, go sit in the hot tub, and listen to a live concert by the Zac Brown Band. I was shocked to be hearing this Grammy-winning band live from our hot tub. Just Al & I, almost like we were on our honeymoon. Only thing missing was our kids...who we realllly miss (I say it with a big lump in my throat as this is something we never do - we travel in a pack!) It was just another wonderful night on this amazing trip & I am very grateful to have this opportunity as I full know that so many people can't/won't/don't. On that note, I raise my cup of coffee to all of you, and especially my big brother Bill...Gone but not forgotten.

Mom you'd love it here, especially the hot tub and the flowers/plants/birds. I could see Cindy dancing around the pool to the live music & Marth at the lagoon reading. And Ray would enjoy the hammock with Pat nearby on her iPad or book. I can see our kids enjoying the pool for hours at a time, snuggling with me on the terrace. I could see all of our friends being totally mesmerized by the ocean, the wildlife, nature, the views and the fabu-licious tequila! And the wonderful people and that die-for-music! And in the midst of all of that, I could see myself watching all of you, with a smile on my face, thinking to myself, "Oh what a wonderful world"...

Signing off for now, we remain,

Sal & Jose Cuervo (who is currently taking a Spanish lesson on his phone.)

Lots of pictures to follow below...see the one of my lime and bananas! And that hot tub with the concert lights in the background 😊 Write soon y'all! xo


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 29


Advertisement



1st February 2016

Great blogs Sal!
Watch out National Geographic. Here comes Sally! The photos are awesome as well. Is Auntie Martha holding down the fort? You are blessed my friend. It is raining cats and dogs here...so no comparison., even if it rains there. Nothing like your company (Don Julio...Is that Al's new nick name?) and a good Margarita to enjoy the Mexican paradise beauty .lol xo
1st February 2016

Great Blogs Sal!
Hey Zully, thanks for taking the time to say hi! I'm not sure about National Geographic, but I might be hired for something like MAD magazine??! Yes Al will assume a new nickname every blog unless he starts writing his own blog! Sal xo
1st February 2016

After reading your most interesting blog I had to go and have a rest for you. ? Seriously it is it sounds like wonderful trip back in history.
I am enjoying the pictures and especially the flowers and birds. Thank you for posting your day trips it's like I am along with you. Lots of love and be safe. ? XO
1st February 2016

Finding Beauty Everywhere...
Hi mom, keep resting for me! I knew you'd love the birds and flowers. Stay tuned for more about the wildlife and nature...xoxoxo
1st February 2016
Waves in tulum

Beautiful
I'm on my way!! Amazing stories and pics, thanks.
1st February 2016
Waves in tulum

Beautiful
Blainey, we'd always love to have you, you know that! You'd love it here, no doubt. Miss you. xoxo

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 6; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb