Gateway To the Past


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Puerto Aventuras
January 28th 2016
Published: January 29th 2016
Edit Blog Post

"Those who don't know history are doomed to repeat it"... ~

WEDS/THURSDAY

Hola amigos! Up early, sitting outside with the warm breeze on my face typing till my heart's content. (I'm a bit behind time-wise in my blogs). The ocean is calmer today than the past few days. Wednesday the waves were so rough it looked like there was six feet of snow coming at me. What an illusion to have given I'm in a tropical land. (Sorry for you blokes back in Ottawa getting the real stuff!)

We've also been spellbound by a little hummingbird who likes to feed off the nectar of flowering aloe vera plant on our patio. (Please see the pictures Al took to the right). It's not easy to capture a picture of a humming bird due to their speed, but he caught it up close. It's amazing to watch a hummingbird's fast speed, his little wings fluttering and the way he hovers while he enjoys the plant. They make this little tick tick tick humming sound (therefore the name humming bird) and when he's done he flits off as fast as can be. This flowering aloe plant is very popular, and since all the birds like it, we are witnessing some really beautiful birds up close, mere feet from our patio. The aloe plants offers the birds a huge dose of vitamin B and from the looks of their healthy feathers, it's working.

Apparently Mexico is home to 50 different species of hummingbirds. Mom you would love to see these. They are such little stunt flyers - zipping in and around, flying quickly, upside down, & sometimes backwards too.

We're immersed in nature here - our favorite iguana was sunning himself on the lawn and as per his own clock, he moved to the top of the big rock to get the maximum benefit of the sun. I get the feeling he's keeping an eye on me. He must've heard the rumors about me 😊 Not long ago we heard two little barking dogs & they ran over the lawn and one took after the iguana. I expected that iguana to take a round out of that dog but alas, the iguana ran under his rock and that was the end of that. I will keep an eye out for those dogs who dare to harrass my iguana Iggy.

The last few days have been glorious weather-wise. Just exploring around, finding new places to eat & drink, taking in the views, and then lounging, reading, and staring at the ocean. We've been enjoying leisurely days of enjoying our terrace too, and Al spent hours reading a book on a lounger by the lagoon. The panoramic views of the ocean, and the sound of the waves carries you into a cozy place - so cozy I think Al studied his eyelids for pinholes for about half the afternoon...(yes he had a sleep).We were out of a few breakfast items, so off we went to the big grocery store across the highway. We can't take our golf cart out of the community so like all the other tourists we hoofed it across. It was a pleasant hot walk & you smile at the guests of PA bringing back their case of cerveza just like Al...

Afterwards due to the heat, we went for a drink by the marina. Our favorite bartender had the day off, so we had to break in a new bartender. So I give him instructions all in Spanish and especially reminded him to not put in any naranja, (orange juice), and he was doing it perfectly till he topped it off with Club Soda. HUH? What are you doing with the freaking club soda? So he made it for me again, and it was great. (First world problems)...I tell you though they need to put seat belts on the bar stools after you have one of them. One tequila, two tequila, three tequila, FLOOR.

Afterwards we strolled past a lovely restaurant behind the marina for lunch. Right off the bat I knew this spot (Dos Aguas) was going to be good as the service was so attentive. The owner explained they had just opened a month before. So we ordered a glass of wine, and they brought out this delicious piping hot spinach croquette with a tomato, garlic and onion sauce underneath, on the house! The presentation was spectacular, but the flavor made my taste buddies do a flamenco dance. From there Al & I shared a pan-seared salmon, with roasted baby potatoes and grilled vegetables; the baby carrots were caramelized, and they had grilled the green onions & tomatoes and it all came together like a party in our mouth. Then they brought out fresh buns...to die for. We will be back for another lunch or dinner.

We took the golf cart out for a tour last night stopping at Pelican Point for a drink. This marina-front restaurant is to DIE FOR. White shirt black pants service, with table lit candles, soft jazz playing in the background... It was nice as our waitress Elena from a few days before recognized us. First thing she says to me is "You want a margarita with no naranja? YES no naranja ! My fetish for a classic margarita is getting known around the area! We hadn't been sitting there long, enjoying the ambiance, the views (well Al did have a great view of me ahem)and along came Elena with warm rolled-up finger towels to refresh our hands. How nice is that?

We ended up at Massimo, an Italian Restaurant, and frankly I never know what to expect in Mexico re: pasta. But we enjoyed ham & cheese stuffed chicken rolls with an Alfredo pasta. It was really quite good. It was so nice sitting by the water, with candles, and a soft breeze but I could feel that something was coming. At first I said to Al I feel a drop or two of rain. He didn't feel it so I called our waiter and said do you mind moving us over under the terrace. He holds his hands up and says, "Madam, it's not going to rain". So I say well "por favor" if you don't mind we'll still move under the awning. So he moves our table, and we enjoy our food and probably within 10 minutes there's a huge downpour. Like cats and dogs downpour, and I think I saw a few dolphins swim by in the rain. Everybody was running for cover, tables & chairs were being moved, and guests including our waiter got soaked. While I sat there peacefully, dry under the awning, all the while saying under my breath, "I told you so"...

Ancient Mayan Ruins & Tulum

So Tulum (which means “wall”) is about 45 minutes south from us and it is another beautiful seaside town known for its spectacular coastline, super soft beaches and jade-green waters but also known for its ancient Mayan Ruins. I have written work blogs for this, and the fact that there is so much mystery that surrounds one of the smartest civilizations that ever lived. They were brilliant and ahead of their time, but they disappeared, died out, vanished...poof - GONE. It's truly mind boggling how such a brilliant people who did so much with so little could suddenly disappear...

We think we’re so smart with our technology; our iPods, iPhones, iPads, internet and so on. However, I think back then they had a few Steve Jobs & Bill Gates in the group of Mayans. Frankly if all is measured up, we don’t compare one iota to what the Mayans were doing during the 8th/9th century.

We all know the Romans were master builders, but the Mayans were no slackers either. And don't forget the Romans had use of metal tools but the poor Mayans were relying on stone, bone and wood - however they still managed to construct magnificent cities, pyramids and underground reservoirs to hold rainwater for times of drought. All I might add without the use of pulleys, shovels or plows etc...

To this day, the Mayans had a much more precise calendar than we currently use, with numerous ways of measuring time. They developed a highly developed hieroglyphically written language, and their mathematical achievements and advanced astronomy has earned them a really freaking important place in the development of the western hemisphere. They were also highly advanced in art and trade, and this continued on until the 16th century after the Spanish Conquest. So what the heck happened to them? How could these Mayan people be so remarkably brilliant and beyond sophisticated then millions of people suddenly disappear and/or die?

The more I read about this, the more fascinating it becomes. It’s long been one of history’s big question mark and a mystery.There are plenty of theories on this, and I won't go into them all, but it may be that they were over-populated, ran into drought, endured starvation which in turn caused war and unrest. Ultimately, they disappeared. The Mayans did have an end of cycle calendar in 2012 predicting the end of the world, and well, as we know, we're all still here. Yet there are some important warnings about how we need water to survive and we should pay particular attention to our resources if we rely on them for life. Just need to think of California and its ongoing drought. When they say it's a state of emergency people need to stand at attention.

According to historians, Tulum was the only Mayan city built on the eastern Mexican Caribbean coast, and it was used primarily for trading turquoise and jade. There were roughly 600 Mayans who lived in Tulum, but some researchers believe that only nobility and priests lived within the walls. Peasants had to live outside of the walls (I would probably have fallen under the peasant category and be locked out of the gates. Can't say I'd blame them!)

The funny thing about the city of Tulum is that it was built when the Mayan empire began to wane. Yet, you wouldn’t be able to see that by looking at the 784 meter wall that encompasses the city, or the Castillo (which means castle where the lighthouse would guide boats safely to the rocky and very dangerous shore) is still some of the better preserved structures. The ruins that sit cliff-side on the ocean are probably the most photographed landmark in Mexico. It's something else to walk by the ocean to see them.

Let me tell you how much the Yucatan prides itself on preserving these ancient ruins. So much so that they kicked pop singer Justin Bieber out of the Tulum Ruins for trying to scale one of the preserved ruins which is a big NO NO. They are very well-marked not to climb and many are roped off. I would've used one of the ancient Mayan spring boards and launched his behind right into the Caribbean Sea for that lack of respect. Clearly having money does NOT give you class. (Maybe third class...)

So we're off to Tulum to enjoy the ruins, the water, the beaches, and find ourselves a nice spot to sit and enjoy the wonders of the area. This place is just all eye-candy.

PS the pics of the birds are Al's

LAUGH OF THE DAY (The laugh was all on me ;(

Just before dinner yesterday I mentioned to Al I was off to shower. After I went to leave the bathroom, I couldn't get the lock to turn to open the door. So I try to maneuver the lock back & forth and nothing. I start lightly knocking on the door, saying "Al...Al. Al? I realize we have music playing, and Al may have gone out to a hammock. (I was trying to be discreet since we have neighbors in the condo above us & god knows I don't need them calling the police to break down our door because I'm locked in the bathroom? I shuddered at the thought.)

So I continue to knock and nothing. Finally I bang pretty loudly and yell AL, and he finally comes to the door and says, "Is everything all right in there"?

Did he just ask me if everything was alright in there? What the heck? Other than the fact I'm yelling & banging to get out? Yes all is great in here honey - I'm having the time of my life in the bathroom - I'm popping Champagne & grilling shrimp. Couldn't be better, thanks for asking. I flew to Mexico to hang out in the bathroom - who needs the ocean or our patio offering sublime views of the ocean when you have a lovely marble bathroom to enjoy...ARGH.

So Al is pretty swift, he got my drift after that heap of sarcasm, and so he assesses the door situation and says "Well this is not going to be easy to do. It's a dead bolt and there's no key to open it". O - M - G. So now I'm seriously eyeing up the bathroom window, and while we're on the ground floor we're built up on a bit of a hill with a fair slope down to the water. Which means if I crawl out the window and then jump I may get hurt - perhaps even receive a head injury. (For those of you who know me well, yes you'd be correct in believing that may have already happened. Once...or even twice.)

Anyhow, short of calling the staff, Al somehow MacGyvered the door with a good old Canadian quarter. I swear when he got the door open he appeared to be on a white horse wearing some sort of knight outfit and holding a dagger. (OK now that I'm rescued, he was actually wearing shorts, a T shirt & holding a beer and a quarter... But for me in that moment he was my hero.)

So afterwards, I wanted to prove to Al what happened & how that stupid lock wouldn't open for me. Funny enough he would not go into the bathroom & close the door & lock it. He didn't want any part of that. Why Al? What could possibly go wrong? :>

Signing off,

Sal and her MacGyver

*See pics attached below...Click on them to enlarge if you are feeling dangerous (heh heh) Love hearing from you all 😊

*My girl Friday is still on sick leave. So warning again about spelling/grammar. 😉 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



30th January 2016
Down by the water...typing!

LOVE this photo!!!
Enjoying the Mini Moon (if you can call that a 'mini' ..lol) sans kids..I see. :-)
30th January 2016
Down by the water...typing!

Love this Photo
Mini moon! And yes no kids...miss them but enjoying the time away!
31st January 2016

A great writeup Sal!!
By reading your blogs we people could just stay at home and enjoy the area and pictures. You should submit you articals to a travel magazine they are that good I am so happy to hear that you are enjoying yourself. Love you XO
1st February 2016

A Great Writeup
Hola Mom, thanks very much - you're my mom, like I say you're supposed to say that! Love & miss you. Say hi to Dad (Miss you!)

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0777s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb