Dating like a Telenovela


Advertisement
Published: April 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

My Spanish is now conversational. This milestone is nothing less than an opportunity to date someone who speaks absolutely no English. I was looking for someone untouched by foreign culture; a woman who wholly represents everything I've seen in Mexican culture. Alicia was there to make it happen - a sales rep in a hotel gift shop. She arrived from Mexico City 2 months ago with no plan other than citing "It's destiny". She taught me how to live by emotions like a telenovela.

1pm: we met in a coffee shop and ordered drinks

1:14: She tells me, in Spanish, I'm cute and starts touching me.

1:15: We are passionately making out in the cafe

2:00: We go to the beach in front of a hotel, continue making out and rolling around in the sand. Parents move thier children indoors.

3:00: She tells me she loves me with a flurry of "Te quiro" and "me amor" comments. Makes perfect sense.

5:00: We go eat dinner and she asks if I am married or have a girlfriend (The common assumption is "yes, he does" in Mexico). I respond "No" and give a brief history of serious relationships I have.

5:05: She says our relationship is over. I must have said something wrong.

I went home with a smile. Not fully content with the quick closure, but carrying no regrets
...I should have known that Mexican emotional living would have her text me the next day. Let's let love run wild.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb