My Oh MAYA!


Advertisement
Published: July 15th 2016
Edit Blog Post

'All good things must come to an end, but I wouldn't have wanted it to end any other way with any other people"...

Well after 18 days of a wonderful family vacation in Playa, Al and the girls left Weds. for home. WAH. Ava said goodbye to the condo at least 5 times and to me about 20 times because I'm actually staying on for a bit. I was a bit melancholy to see the family go as it means one more summer of memories packed away from Playa. Next year Rory will almost be 16. Ava 12 and Lara 18. Wow. Plus I miss my sidekick Al (insert hearts here).

Of course mama bear had to make sure they were all organized (did you look under the bed for any clothes? Get your stuff out of the shower?) and then I went to the little cafe outside our condo to order them delicious club sandwiches for their flight. Full tummies usually means a contented flight even though mom wasn't flying back with them. (Side note: they encountered long line-ups and their flight was delayed from TO to Ottawa...well at least the sandwiches were great!)

The last few days with the family was so nice and peaceful, and Al did a ship-wreck dive which he'd never done before, which completely boggled his diving instructor Dave, who was so surprised that Al hadn't had that experience before. It was very interesting for him, and he saw a moray eel hiding under the bottom of the ship, and lots of colorful fish which he captured on his reliable go-pro camera. Al has all this wonderful video he needs to download so I can post it. While I don't dive I sure appreciate how fascinating it is, and how much Al loves this other world and it's all the more fascinating to see the footage of his adventures. While we're having breakfast by the ocean, he's diving to the bottom of it. It's a cool thought.

Marth arrived the same day the family left, to join me as I'm staying on to meet the management of another boutique hotel that I'm hoping to start writing blogs for. So send me some good karma to get the gig ; )

For those of you who know Marth and I, there is a bit of Lucy & Ethel, Abbott & Costello and/or Dean Martin & Jerry Lewis thing going on. For those of you who don't know Marth & I, just read my blog of our trip together to Paris in 2012, then you'll have an idea of the Lucy/Ethel nonsense we get up to, sometimes inadvertently. Lordy lordy it's never dull...

TAKE THE NEXT LEFT FOR ADVENTURE

So Marth arrives all happy to be here, and after a pleasant lunch, she says to me, I owe you a birthday present. And of course I say NO yes you do! Hahaha. So she says what are we going to do together on this trip? Well I had thought of lots of things because there is so much to see, do and explore. Marth likes to go on treks through ancient Mayan ruins, visit colonial towns, snorkel etc., but on her last trip here with me in April, she had encountered a health issue of edema (swelling from water retention) likely from too much sun exposure after hiking around the famous Chitzen Itza Mayan ruins. So I'm a little willy-nilly about going on adventures with her here in this type of heat frankly and have her pass out on me. January yes - July no. So I reminded her about this, and she quickly concurred maybe we should do something else. Given she just started a new job, she was hungry for some R&R so we put our heads together.

While I'm so thrilled to be in our specky-tacular luxurious condo with non-stop ocean views and a rooftop to die for, I mentioned to her that I have had my eye on visiting a beautiful eco-nature resort for ONE night because frankly it's out of my league. It's a beautiful resort built both in the jungle yet in reasonable proximity to the miles and miles of the beautiful powdery beaches that dot the shore of the Mayan Riviera. It is STUNNING. Did I mention it is stunning? And not only does it have five stars, it's rated a AAA five star diamond resort. While I say it's out of my league, it looks like heaven from all the brochure pictures that I've been salivating over. Yes I've salivated over them. Like a teenage boy back in the 70s salivating over a Farrah Fawcett poster.

It's the Fairmont Mayakoba - built in 2006 on 45 acres of jungle, canals, cenotes and waterways and designed to preserve the indigenous natural habitats, and animals that occupy the land. "Mayakoba" means ‘village of water’ and they designed it with low-rise casas and rooms to keep the feel of a small village. Frankly I have no interest in staying even one night at a monolithic resort that overtakes the shoreline with its massiveness. What is appealing to me is the care & attention they used to carve out this spot. They built it around canals and lagoons and it is part of five eco-systems including underground rivers and cenotes.

*'Fairmont Mayakoba was designed and built specially to consider the mangrove’s protection. These forests of the coastline are considered the “kidneys of our planet” as they are responsible for cleaning the water in our coral reefs.' When building, the Fairmont Mayakoba preserved most of the land’s natural jungles, flora and fauna. By implementing an ancient Mayan technique called “socoleo” (used to highlight the beauty of plants by pruning and replanting them) more than 1,500 trees were rescued and relocated all around the property. Today, those plants have grown and multiplied, and some in the process of becoming mature trees. And much of the fruit & vegetables they grow on their acreage ends up on the tables of their restaurants.

During the property’s construction phase, there were also special measures taken to care for the animals found onsite. More than 40 species, including exotic birds and iguanas, were relocated for safety, & many of them are still thriving on the properties. Additionally, during the construction phase the hotel made sure to preserve green areas between the buildings and casitas, creating a natural habitat for many species. (The above in bold I copied from their website).

The canal boats are called 'lanches' which are electric, as no motor boats, jet skis etc are allowed on the property or ocean. The lanches transport guests around the complex which is very close to a Disney-like jungle boat ride. They provide guided tours of the eco-systems that are fed with clear water from the underground rivers that course through here. (Apparently they will take you out for crocodile sightings, along with spider monkeys, iguanas, birds, butterflies etc.) If you want to get my ears to perk up, tell me I'll be seeing all of this.

And while the majority of the hotel lies half a mile back from the beach, separated by mangroves, it has a beachfront section which shows off the sun-kissed beautiful miles of beach that the Riviera Maya is known for. They are also well-known for the world class golf as they offer at the 18-hole, par 72 El Camaleón golf course at Mayakoba which was designed by 'the Shark' Greg Norman and home to the PGA Mexico as well.

Calling all foodies. Imagine world-classing dining ranging from drinks and ceviche by the pool, or fine dining on a lagoon? Count me in. The dining at the Fairmont is supposedly quite good with a nice mix of Latin/Asian fusion, fresh seafood, fine wines, tequila & mezcal tastings etc. And despite the grandness of this resort, it's received its share of kudos from environmental groups for its sustainability programs, which affect everything from the type of fish served in its restaurants to the chemicals used on the golf course.

So back to us. Over a drink (or two) we did some research, and there was a one day sale only for Sally (hahaha) so Marth and I hopped on it. First it was on sale (yay), second the US website had it in 'Mexican pesos' which is in our Canadian favor. It's rare to get an all-inclusive for the money we paid so I had to put down my laptop while Martha & I did a jig around the condo! This will be an adventure. I plan on bringing toothpicks to keep my eyes open so I can take it all in, & if Marth falls asleep I'll poke her with my toothpicks 😊 I do not plan on sleeping - I just want to hang around like a bad rash, enjoying the sights and sounds of this jungle paradise. I plan to eat and drink my way through every part of this place till they throw me out by the seat of my bathing suit...Once back at the condo, Martha and I will live on water and crackers for a few days but it is a treat we can look back fondly on.

I said to Martha, if we feel like we've died and gone to heaven and want to spend another night, we'll somehow have to steal the housekeepers outfits, and like something out of a mad-cap movie, sneak around like we're staff. We could eat off the unfinished plates of this brilliant chef. Take dips in the rich people's plunge pools when they're out. I will lie around floating in the plunge pool and Marth will keep guard to see if anybody's coming. Then Martha asked me, "When would it be my turn and I said, "Well hello, when the people show up cause that's when I'll get the hell out" 😉 She didn't seem very struck on this idea...

So anyhow, we've gone and done it. Booked one night, all inclusive night and will be headed there to this AAA 5 diamond resort early next week. So you may ask yourself (cause I asked myself), what constitutes a triple AAA 5 diamond resort and who is the big chief that decides this? Well here goes.

“Attaining the Five Diamond Rating is an impressive accomplishment and a point of great pride for these top hotels,” said Petrone. “Five Diamond establishments stand apart by redefining personalized service, using creativity to enhance guest comfort and providing memorable experiences.”

Well regardless, I am beyond excited by this. I was so excited yesterday if my pants caught on fire I'd have looked over my shoulder and shrugged. I get a heady almost dizzy-like feeling when I am out in nature exploring this area. Like the day we went to Xenses. It's a powerful pull for me to be there, seeing all the flora/fauna, putting my feet in the fresh crystal-clear waters that flow from the underground, hearing the different sounds of birds, and then add in sensuous food and great wine, well you had me at HOLA.

I only need one night there. That will be enough to just taste the forbidden fruit! I am very happy to have the comforts of a fully-equipped ocean front condo to return to. It's just a new opportunity to have while already here, to take advantage of the proximity since it's 15 minutes from our little oasis.

Apparently they win on service, so I look forward to a drink with a really nice umbrella in it while I sit by one of the freshwater pools. Meanwhile, we can also get free nature boat tours around the lagoons, and take the kayaks and bikes out for a spin. Given we have 24 hours there, we will take advantage of our time to see all the places we want to see. It is touted as a non-party, more zen-like place which is right at my comfort level. After having a condo next to the Hard Rock in Puerto Aventuras in January, with the noise, I am looking forward to being somewhere that is set in such a beautiful tropical and nature setting. For those that like the Hard Rock, have 3 for me 😊

Over dinner Martha & I talked our upcoming night there, and I said, I sure hope they don't categorize us as the "people who got the great deal off the internet" and give us the loser wrist band that points out to the staff we are the cheapest people there, which in turn tells the staff to water down our drinks, give us only half a salad, and then wait for 5 hours near the kitchen to get our lobster-a-la-something-really-tasty. Surely they won't do that to us??? No they wouldn't do that 😞 (PS they certainly DID NOT do that. We were treated like royalty and no wrist bands!)

Upon booking our reservation, it says add a note for Fairmont Mayakoba so I did, and this is what I wrote (and I inserted my own thoughts for you the reader!)

"Happy to be celebrating my birthday with you. If you remember my blog about my birthday, I could not celebrate it due to being sick on July 4th. So while it may be almost 2 weeks past my birthday when I land there, I am now hoping to recoup that moment there). I also wrote,

"I am here on work/pleasure as I write blogs for a company in the area". (A blogger who has a passion for writing about the area!)

"My friend Martha has a knee issue, so it would be great to have accessible accommodations". (Well it is true, Marth has had a torn meniscus which she had surgery for. When she first told me she tore her meniscus, frankly I thought it sounded like a town next to Fargo North Dakota. Meniscus. Huh. Now I know it's in some part of your knee.

Anyhow, overall I am hoping the resort feels the extra need to go all out for our one night adventure there. ;} (Hey, listen if you don't ask, nobody will give you an extra thing.)

IT'S A SMALL WORLD...WOULDN'T WANT TO PAINT IT, BUT IT'S STILL A SMALL WORLD

So yesterday we ventured to a newly opened spot on the beach for lunch. A beautiful new Mediterranean beach club called C-Grill which is part of the ritzy Thompson Hotel chain. Having seen it so busy here in Playa, this spot should've been hopping but it looked so quiet and peaceful we decided to stop for lunch. It was SO nice. Perfect ocean views, lovely atmosphere, cushioned-back chairs, coconut trees swishing...delightful. We enjoyed the most tender chicken & vegetable skewers with a beautifully dressed salad with pecans & goat's cheese. They bring freshly baked pita slices to your table with aged balsamic vinaigrette. (I update the restaurant list of Playa for the company and this restaurant has definitely made the list).

Before long we are chatting with our server and she says she met her husband working at a Fairmont Hotel in Dubai and he was from Mexico, so she moved here to be with him. Now they are married with children. After further conversation, we ended up finding out her husband worked at the big grand hotel that hosted my photo shoot in April for my 'writing project'. How ironic is that? Her husband was so helpful for my photo shoot and spent time with me, offering so much information and background on the topic I'm hoping to pitch to a magazine. Now keep in mind, Playa is not huge, but it's big, and with over 700 restaurants, to find people that you know...well it was cool.

FURTHER, her husband used to work at the Fairmont Mayakoba where Marth and I are heading (wahoooo) so I asked her if she's stayed there, and she said yes, her and her husband have enjoyed a few nights there and she loved the place. And so she gave us the LOW DOWN on it, which is very helpful about what to do, the food, the nature trails, the beach etc.

She invited us back on Sunday to the restaurant for their oceanfront brunch. And bottomless mimosas and bellinis. So hiccup, here we come on Sunday. One more for the toad (oops, road) please. Even better, we are half a block to the condo via the beach. 😊

PS after a nice dinner, Marth and I strolled back to the condo. The night was sultry, with a beautiful breeze. We settled in the living room and I noticed over the ocean by Cozumel Island brilliant flashes of lighting. Wow did we get a show. Heat lighting that was shockingly pink & white, hiding behind clouds, then bursts of color almost like shy fireworks. Then it would move to the right or left; dazzling us, leaving us wondering where the next flicker would be. At the same time, on the beach the live band was playing.

Three men were floating in the ocean, singing to their hearts desire a Mexican love song. They sounded like like three tenors with their voices beautifully harmonized, one with a very strong falsetto range. And one whose voice was so chillingly strong; a baritone that made me want to see who it was. I think he had a few beer under his belt, but whoever he was singing this song to, whether his wife or girlfriend who was not there, wow, all I can say is her ears must've been burning.

And that was the end of another beautiful day. And before long, I floated off into never-never land dreaming of canal boats, spider monkeys and exotic drinks with cocktail umbrellas in them...and something about a meniscus...? Get out of my dream Martha :}

TGIF Morning all...today I am meeting with the new hotel re: blogging. Hopefully that beauty sleep helped. Here goes....

"What does not happen in a year, can happen in a moment"...~

Signing off for now, (My secretary is on a margarita break; so here's to my grammar/spelling being up to par!)

Salsa & the Meniscus Lady and The Big Mayan Adventure

(See photos!) Drop me a note...does NOBODY miss me?


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



15th July 2016
Beach Club

This IS my kind of Club!
Have a couple of Lone Margaritas for our B-day (on you) , by the Ocean (para mi!) . Okay? Deal? Oaky then. ;-) As per my usual request, but since you are alone now, I wanted to keep you company. xoxo Love and Stay safe.
15th July 2016
Beach Club

My kinda club...
Si Zully. If it's inclusive I'll have two for you! Xo
15th July 2016

Good luck on your interview with the new hotel for whom you wish to blog...
and I'm looking forward to hearing about your 24 hour bash at the Fairmont Mayakoba!
16th July 2016

Good Luck
Gracias Bob - we'll see if they want someone 'like me' to blog for them...And further someone like me getting into a fancy schmancy resort. I will do my best to bring some class
16th July 2016

Hello
What a beautiful place! So nice reading about your experience. xo Miss you
18th July 2016

My Oh Maya
Hey Lin, all of it has been quite enjoyable. Miss you too. How are things in the Lone Star State?

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb