Off to Isla Mujeres


Advertisement
Published: July 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Patience ( noun) The most important ingredient for dating, marriage and children. (See also "tranquilizers")

Well it's MiƩrcoles (Weds) and we've herding everyone to get their bathing suits and sunblock on, and our backpacks filled for our trip to Isla Mujeres today. Our van will be here at 9:30 am so it's hustle time. We're really looking forward to a day on the island. There's lots to do and see, including a turtle farm, snorkeling, an underwater sculpture park, beaches, marine life, beach side cafes etc. We'll rent golf carts while we're there to see the entire island. But in the meantime I'm asking, "Rory do you have a towel"? "Ava do you have your bathing suit on"? "Al do you have money"? "Lara have you eaten"...Ahhh motherhood and all its glory. It's an operation getting everyone out the door but we're a well greased operation!

Sheesh one blog is turning into another and another. It's good I type around 100 words per minute or I'd be still on the first blog and yet I feel I'm still behind on a blog.

Yesterday rocked. Rory & I had breakfast together; she's such easy company. We are very comfortable together; I sipped my coffee, she sipped her hot chocolate, we ate, the we both read and I typed my blog. As we all know, still waters run deep, and quite often after we've done something together, or as a family, I will come across a story Rory wrote about our day, and our conversations and it can make me feel weak in the knees how much she took in, and how she can re-tell it in her own special way and captures great details that I can often forget.

Now if Ava was with me at breakfast (our little journalist and comedian) she would have been asking about Mexico's gross domestic product or how do palm trees grow or why is there a time difference from Mexico to Ottawa etc. There'd be more chatting than down time and that would've rocked too. I just hate when she asks something I don't have an answer to. I'll have to be the one typing under the table on my laptop to find the answer so she doesn't know I don't know it!!!

Speaking of gross domestic product of Mexico, (good lead in), many people really don't know much about Mexico even if you travel here. Getting to know many of the Mexicans who have moved here to work from other parts of Mexico, we find out about where they come from, what the main source of work is and how big their cities are. Mexico City for example is HUGE. It has over 20 million people...can you imagine? And Mexico City is a pretty happening megalopolis booming city. It enjoys great urban centers, centuries of history, impressive museums, five star restaurants & boutique hotels, artsy neighborhoods and lots of intelligent artists and musicians. Clearly Mexico City is not the "dirty armpit" of Mexico that it was so many years ago.

And many assume that Mexico has ONLY poor people; and of course it has poor people, (like Canada) but it also has a lot of wealthy citizens too that aren't drug dealers.

Last summer for example (if you recall), this hoity toity lady showed up with her nanny in tow, and her two kids who I'll refer to as tweedle dee and tweedle dum through no fault of their own. (I think she ignored her kids the entire time she was here). And question, how do you do that? HEH HEH HEH (I love my kids; just jokin!)

Anyhow, I get stuck in the jacuzzi next to her, and she's smoking, and ordering around our beach friend Odin like her servant. She told me her husband is a professor and he had studied at Harvard and she had to live gasp...in the cold and wetness of Cambridge Massachusetts and on and on she went.

She told me he that her husband arranged for her trip and told the staff of Luna, "whatever my wife wants, give it to her and I'll tip you when I get back". OMG. She was So insufferable and she won first place for obnoxious too. I got out of that hot tub so fast it must have looked like I'd been hit by lightening. She was just too much. (I actually wondered once her husband dropped her if he didn't gun it out of town and head to Belize and be rid of her 😊 Ahhh...one can only dream :> I recall her telling me that she was from Monterrey Mexico and that most everyone she knew there was wealthy & everyone had a maid. At that moment I really hated her...damn - how come boorish people like her deserve a maid. I want a maid! WAH!! :< And yep, she's right; a lot of super rich people live in Monterrey.

And worst of all, she was at the condo for 3 weeks so I had to try and avoid her as much as possible. Every time she spotted me I mumbled I was on my way somewhere and hightailed in the opposite direction of her.(PS guess who arrived here this week again? AHHHHHHHHHH)

Speaking of wealthy, Mexico also has a new generation of wealthy young adults called "Juniors". These are the offspring off oil magnates, technology kings and the upper echelons of politics etc. They drive their sports cars through Mexico City, wearing designer clothes & carrying brand name handbags and they even have "body guards" surrounding them. And they love to tout it on Facebook which has gotten quite a few of their parents into trouble because they brag about what their parents have done to get them out of trouble which has caused the resignations of many bigwigs. Oops...sucks when you get caught with your hand in the cookie jar, or rather...your pictures on FB.

But alas, sometimes the little guy does win 😊 A new movie out called "Juniors" (by Warner Brothers) deals with a wealthy self-made man and his three ne'er-do-well children, 20-somethings who live high on daddy's bank account. So daddy stages a hoax to make them think he's gone bankrupt, forcing the family to move into a low-income barrio. There, the kids must do something they have never done before: Get real jobs. It's a comedy but really does make fun of these elite who've done nothing to earn it other than being born. PS Carlos Slim is a Mexican billionaire and philantropist trying to change the way the world looks at Mexico.

Anyhow, bottom line is there's been a backlash from these Juniors that it's not honorable or cool to abuse your power & wealth.

Well van's almost here, goodbye for now...have a grrrreat day 😊

OMG just landed in Isla Mujeres...the most special part of our vacation EVER 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



10th July 2013

Maid...
We had a maid when I was a kid, and it was overrated. I still had to pick up my room because my mom said "The maid is here to clean the house not pick up after you." Hum - guess being spoiled was off the menu. Then my sisters, friends & cousins had kids, and they said that's why God created teenagers - to clean, pick up & take care of the house! So Sally you do have a maid ... uh 3 maids ... Yea! If they have time to lean, they have time to clean! :-) x
11th July 2013
Little crab!

Bring home this crab for me!!! ;-)
LOVE this shot of my little Cancer Crab friend!!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb