Sunny Shores & One Jerk...


Advertisement
Published: June 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It was a beautiful first official day here in Playa (Mexico) on Thurs. starting with that beautiful sunrise (see previous blog). As expected Rory & Ava found me on my lounger at 8am & we got sun-blocked & hit the pool. No one was around except the gardeners. What fun to have a pool all to yourself. Dad (Allan) got up and took some pictures and then we went to the cafe next door (Fusion) & enjoyed pancakes, French toast & oh lucky day, mimosas were 2for1 (champagne & orange juice). What an amazing start to a day, sitting with loved ones, being catered to, overlooking the ocean!

We were thrilled when Tonya offered us her beautiful oceanfront condo, & last time we were here Al took some photos of one of her condos for her website. She was impressed & asked if could both photograph & videotape 5 other condos this time. I packed some "props" (silk flowers, fake fruit, napkins) to make the photos really shine. I also bought fresh fruit, and wine etc, to set the tables for the photos. We managed to get 2 condos both photo'd and videotaped for her website. Man, I gotta tell you, this photography business is no easy task. Cart all your stuff, set up, then ensure the condo is spotless, keep your stuff out of picture range including myself, cut up the fruit, set the tables, pour the wine (for the tables, not for me 😉 and on it goes. Those rich & well known photographers at least have peons to run around and do all this (come to think of it, I was the peon). Anyhow, we will post the "before & after" photos of some of our condos as we go along. Al tried to get photos from the balconies overlooking the pool/ocean but there were these annoying people in the pool cramping our style (oops, that was OUR family might I mention!). We are hoping all the photos and videos turn out spectacular. If anyone deserves a good deed it's you Tonya!

After our hard work, we enjoyed a lunch of pulled pork on a fresh baguette from the carts near the ferry; so good with pickled onions all for $2 each. We settled on our loungers which our buddy Odin (the beach server) had set up for us. No lounge chair wars here; everyone has their own lounger, situated where they want it, with perfect ocean views. Odin is such a good guy; he even brought me some cocktail umbrellas to use for props on our next photo shoot too! He was so hot and sweating up a storm as the day was one of the hottest according to the locals. So we paid him back with a cold Corona (and pesos) which seemed to make his day.

Luis the bartender/server from our favorite beach bar dropped by to say hello and he had a cold one with Al. He's the one with the daughter in Toronto as he married a gal from there but things didn't work out so he visits when he can. He's going to Akumal on Monday; the beautiful beach town about 20 minutes from here where you can snorkel with turtles and manatees & he's invited us along with him as he'll be our tour guide for the day!

Shortly after he & Al headed to the ocean to do some surfing nd I FINALLY settled down into my new book, Gone Girl. If you are looking for a riveting read this summer, you must pick this book up. It's a psychological thriller about a woman who goes missing on her 5th wedding anniversary. Told from both the wife & husband's perspective, it keeps you constantly riveted as to what happened to her, and initially starts out with how they met with it going back from past to present. Did he have something to do with her disappearance? All to be revealed. I am giving you a brief synopsis as I don't ever reveal an ending, but I myself am only chapters in so I have no idea what happened to her or how the twists and turns will unfold.

So there I was all cozy, under my umbrella finally enjoying a bit of "me" time when all of a sudden to my left, on a busy beach, I hear a guy yelling and swearing and I look over and here's this huge 6 foot something guy yelling at either his wife or girlfriend. I figure it will end or they'll go away because you rarely witness this type of thing in Playa. But NO he doesn't go away. He's now shoving his finger in her face, while still yelling & swearing at her, while all the time she's cowering clearly upset & embarrassed by his behavior. So she had the good sense to walk away down the beach. Ah...a relief that that's over.

So I watch as he walks away in the other direction and and the next darn thing you know, he comes back around the corner running at full speed, yelling at her about to chase her down the beach. So he's running past my lounger looking half crazed. So I decide enough is enough and yell at him to "KNOCK IT OFF WILL YOU"?! Don't worry, he was unarmed (except for his nasty tongue) and he stops in front of me and says in a haughty and arrogant British accent, "I'm from England" (like that would explain his behavior.) So I replied, "Well so is the Queen and I don't see her making a racket on the beach". He then says "Well you have no idea the abuse she gives me everyday" and I said "Well maybe I don't but if that's the case why don't you have the good sense to run away from her instead of chasing after her for more abuse?". That stopped him and he didn't quite know what to say. I will say, he was a rather odd looking guy, despite being a big buff guy, he actually looked a lot like the female impersonator known as RuPaul. (I actually think Rupaul is cool; this guy not so much.) But anyhow, good lord he also looked like he had false eyelashes on, on a hot beach?? Or maybe that champagne & orange juice I chugged back from the morning was clouding my judgement and I was seeing things? 😊

By then, Odin and another guest on the beach got up and told him to leave or they'd call the Police. He made some nasty comment to me upon his leaving & I just rolled my eyes and thought "good riddance". Meanwhile Al's enjoying his time in the ocean while I'm going all Godfather on some jerk. So now the few guests staying at the condo here want to know what happened and were swarming me. I almost had to sign autographs. When Al finally showed up and I told him what happened, he just shook his head and laughed. He always says to me, "Honey, your blogs could write themselves". Honestly...when does the vacation start? Nobody and I mean NOBODY is going to rain on my parade or my holiday, crazed abusive men especially (& especially those with eyelashes longer than me!) Darn tourists who have too much to drink & make a fool of themselves (No not me, I meant him (smile) Ahhh...back to my book.

We ended our day listening to the Latin band next door and decided what the heck, why don't we just go over there for dinner as it looked so inviting with the tables all lit with lanterns & torches with the soft beautiful night breeze and swish of the ocean all for our own delight. So we did, and we were able to order sizzling chicken fajitas that Lara could eat. (for those of you that know she has Celiac disease and unable to eat anything with gluten, wheat, rye or barley and the world is full of those ingredients). Unlike at home, fajitas never seem to have that carnalized pepper & onion taste but here, WOW. So good we almost licked the hot plate clean. We came home and Al and I watched the fireshow from the rooftop arm in arm.

"Don't worry what people think. They don't do it very often". (this is for the jerk on the beach).

Oh and see the photos below as usual & if you're just catching up, there are other blog entries before and after this if you wanna come along on our journey.

Oh & Al took a pic of me in the infinity pool that I think is awesome. Not because "I'm" in it, because the effect looks like I'm in the ocean". Looking forward to hearing from you. It's 7am and off for our walk on the beach.

Me (aka; scrapper on the beach)

Sal


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



29th June 2012

Photo
Sally, why don't you use that photo of you for the website, it's spectacular; that photo says it all and we can't see your face. By the way, we must be twins, the same happened to me at the ringette tournament; I'll tell you about it next time we're sitting by the pool but this time at my place. I'm glad you said something to that guy, as I would have as well. You rock Sally girl!
29th June 2012

Sunny shores
HA! The best part is you can't see my face!! Yes someone needed to check him on his behavior...it seems it's always me that gets in these situations. I hope I don't run into him again. I will sic Marth on him ;) (PS you must tell me about your incident dear twin of mine! xo
30th June 2012

Nostalgia?
Read your blog this afternoon, grabbed a beer, went outside (beautiful weather here today) and thought about beer & nachos at Yen Ten. Of course no nochos, no sand between my toes, and good old Luis wasn't serving. Oh well some of us can't have everthing. Good to see you had a good visit with Luis.
30th June 2012

Sunny shores
Well Ray you'll just have to rectify this and come back to Playa again. Funny you mention Yan Ten; when we got there for lunch today Al swore it was you sitting up in the restaurant. We all looked and saw a huge resemblance! So you were here with us today after all!
30th June 2012

Great story, Sally. You may just get a job with security on the beach. Hey, you could be like one of those girls from Baywatch. Is that a Star Trek shirt Al is wearing? :-)
30th June 2012

Sunny shores
HAHAHA Shawn, me in security? That would be like putting a kid in charge of the candy counter! There's so many of them I'd run off the beach that the place would go bankrupt! Just some of the outfits alone would have to be banned!!! As for Al's shirt, no I don't think it's Star Trek, I think it had some altletic logo on it. I will do some investigating though! Thanks for the laugh! Sal
1st July 2012

pictures sure bring back memories
I could sure use some of your sun and heat. After weeks of rain Alberta finally had a full day of sun yesterday - and was promising to be another one this morning when I left. A third of the way to Vernon, BC we hit rain and it is pouring out there as I write this. I think the rain follows me around. Have margarita for me.
1st July 2012

Sunny shores
Str you on one of your family "ladies" trips to visit family? This trip has been non stop sun, not a drop of rain, with a warm breeze that makes you throw your head back and close your eyes. Amazing. Have a great trip!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb