Performing Lobsters & Great Music...


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Playa del Carmen
November 23rd 2011
Published: November 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I trekked all over Playa shopping Tuesday, and enjoyed a relaxing breakfast being lulled by the soft breeze and ocean waves. The waiter serving me disappeared so I flagged down the busboy and asked for the "bill". He looked at me like HUH? "La cuenta" (Spanish for bill) I said & still he looked puzzled. Was he mesmerized by spinach stuck in my teeth maybe? So I tried gesturing & pretended to write with a pen to signify "cheque". I sang "cuenta" a few times too I think. NOTHING. So I asked him, "is my breakfast free today cause I'm the 10th customer today"? (good try) Nothing. What does a woman gotta do to pay her bill around here? After my wayward waiter returned, he explained the busboy is deaf. The people around me must have had a good laugh at my expense. Now I know why I don't do well at charades. Talk about embarrassing; I almost slid off my chair under the table to crawl out of there. He got an extra good tip out of the ordeal.

The day was HOT. How hot was it you ask? Fry your buns (including my own) on the sidewalk type HOT. I ducked into this shop to escape the heat and the owner said to me, "what lady, you don't like to tan" as he pointed to my pasty skin. Sheesh I wasn't sure if he was insulting me or complimenting my fair skin! We chatted & he asked if I like to dance & would I go dancing with him. I said "married" but before I knew it, he grabbed me and he waltzed me around his shop! I love the openness & fun Mexican people & their personalities. They are just like the Irish; just without that pasty white skin apparently 😉 Didn't go dancing but got a great discount on a gift for Al (what I won't do for that man of mine!)

Danielle & I enjoyed a day lounging pool-side and had a late lunch. We walked the beach and found this little beach club, almost a hole in the wall compared to what we've been used to on the beach. They had good music playing and there was a good sized crowd there. Menu was dirt cheap for lunch including 2 for one margaritas; around $6 CDN. You can't beat that price with a stick & that's good cause I left my stick at home 😉 And these margaritas were gooooooood! To make sure they were as good as we initially thought we ordered another round to make ABSOLUTELY sure (heehee, burp) Danielle had chicken quesadillas for about $5 CDN and I had grilled garlic shrimp skewers for $8. The shrimp was some of the best shrimp I've had and the vegetables were grilled to perfection served along with jasmine rice and fresh salad. I even had a glass of Chardonnay and it ran me about $3 a glass and it was actually quite a nice wine (and not served in a brown bag due to its low price)! The staff were attentive, and our waiter full of jokes. There was a group of friends sitting a few tables away, and clearly they had more than partaken in the happy hour drink special. They were loud, singing, playing a guitar and laughing to kill themselves. Could it be a group of Forans traveling together??? Playa's not ready for us Forans in big doses...YET! This somewhat non-descript restaurant turned out to be a real gem. (pics included) and we will return to it in January if (WHEN) we come back.

Around 7 PM Danielle and I headed out for some nightlife. It was a very humid and hot night. HOw hot you ask again? So hot the poor birds were using potholders to pick up worms. ("K I'm done with the hot jokes!) We walked block after block listening to music and saw a magician performing. There was also a baby tiger you could get pics with. He ain't no Charlie the little squirrel monkey that gave high five's that's for sure!

We ended up at an open-air cafe with 2 acoustical Spanish guitarists performing. That was thoroughly enjoyable including the mojito and daiquiri we enjoyed while singing along with the band on classic rock hits. After the show was over we headed to the Blue Lobster for dinner. We settled on coconut shrimp platter which was huge but DELICIOUS. We noticed a huge tank with these prehistoric looking lobsters all jammed in there, crawling on top of each other almost trying to make an escape ladder. Talk about flexible body armor, they can move their tails in an amazing way. They put on quite a show especially when the waiter fed them! OMG it was a WW wrestling match! THEN, someone ordered lobster for dinner, so the waiter pulls a chair up to the tank. I made a joke like, "hey don't jump in there" and the next thing you know he's sticking his hand in there to pull one of those big guys out! Well the thrashing that went on (that was just me and Danielle all freaked out!!) but actually the lobsters looked like they were pushing each other forward and saying, "take him, take him"!! Apparently from the sounds coming from the next table the guests were excited about their dinner!

Just when you think it can't get much better, another page in the Playa book turns and you get one more slice of the sweet Playa pie! My pics are slow to upload, but here's a few...If you want, read more of my blogs; previous entry or next button.

“The Sea, once it casts its spell, holds one in its net of wonder forever.” ~ -Jacques Cousteau

Sal


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb