Fly Fishing Mexico and Belize... on a budget


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Mahahual
January 11th 2012
Published: January 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

St Croix 8 wt 9 ft fly rodSt Croix 8 wt 9 ft fly rodSt Croix 8 wt 9 ft fly rod

my new saltwater flyrod... merry christmas to me
This is the first entry for my 2012 flyfish mexico and belize on a budget. Ive decided that at 44 its time to become a backpacking fishing bum for a couple of months after getting laid off last week. Ive so far bought a bunch of neat things including a st croix 8 wt 9 ft fly fish rod and reel, an ugly stick with sierra shimano reel filled with 30 lb braid. I also picked up from amazon a nice assortment of bonefish flies, spining lures, hooks and leaders. Im also bringing my all time favorite cape cod lure... a buck tailed kastmaster that can be trown a long way... got my backpack, hennessey hammock, sleeping bag, travel clothes, lights and personal essentials. I also have a prescription dive mask, snorkel and fins... Im only taking a limited number of tech clothes including 2 pair convertible pants, uv shirts including a rashguard swim shirt, sandles and shoes. Oh yeah some basic cooking supplies, titanium pan, utensils and a knife or two. I can buy tshirts and basics when Im in mexico as I figure out what Im missing. Im planning on camping where possible, cheaply but with the basic services like showers and bathrooms.



The big thing is to get to live on a budget and fish on a budget... Id rather wait until the very end of my trip to hire a boat to do a guided tour and instead learn the fishing skills I need in the first few weeks along the beaches, flats, and docks. Im planning on taking a fly tying and casting course at the western carribean fly fishing school in mahahaul as a good start to my trip, getting some good advice is the best way to start...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb