Mexico and Cuba - quick update


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Isla Mujeres
June 3rd 2007
Published: June 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone,

Feeling guilty again about not updating my blog, so here's a very quick rundown of where I've been and what I've been doing, when I get photos developed will go over it all again in more detail!

From Easter Island I flew to Mexico City and ended up spending 10 days there, it's a great city with so much to do and see, you could easily spend a few weeks there. Went from there to Oaxaca for a few days, then to Pacific coast for a couple of nights and to San Cristobal in Chiapas. Both Oaxaca and San Cristobal very interesting for what is going on there politically, but will save that for the long version! Then to ruins of Palenque - very beautiful, set in thick forest - and to Merida, nice town but arrived at start of 3 day alcohol ban designed to stop people fighting over politics as there was an election, so very quiet! From Merida I went to Cancun airport for the flight to Cuba, and spent 10 days there. Difficult to sum up Cuba briefly, but on the whole it was interesting, but a very difficult place to travel on your own, still trying to work out how I feel about it. Because of the gulf in Cuban and tourist economies any interaction is informed by money, so very difficult to feel as if you actually get to experience the 'real' Cuba.

When I arrived back in Cancun, I headed for Isla Mujeres off the coast, where I've been for the last 3 days. It's very touristy, but has a really nice beach with very transparent shallow water, and the hostel is just a 5 minute walk away, so I'm managing to get by! From here I'm going to Tulum further down the coast tomorrow (ruins and beach), will probably stay there a couple of days and then head to Guatemala. I'm hoping to do some voluntary work in Guatemala for a month or so, and then the same in Nicaragua - looking forward to having a different type of experience where I stay in the one place for a while and get to practice my Spanish, and possibly even make myself useful, I think I need a break from indulging myself!

So that's where I'm at in my travels, like I say, I'll do the full version soon, watch this space!

Advertisement



13th June 2007

Hi Morag - what an amazing time you're having. I've only just cottoned on to your blog and your adventures and photos are fantastic. Eve has had her 1st birthday, so I'm planning on taking her travelling overseas this summer - well Lamlash actually - but a girls got to start somewhere.... Angela's in Dubai now, so if you think you fancy that, let me know. Look after yourself. Christine x

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 20; qc: 88; dbt: 0.0777s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb