Playa Palancar


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cozumel
December 17th 2012
Published: December 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We decided to check out some new beaches since we still have our rental car, we had already drove into Alberto's beach club, taken a look and turned around and left. It was really small and secluded and really didn't look very clean. A sign that said 'wear bare feet at your own risk' gave me a bad feeling. So we drove to the very end of the beach district to the furthest beach club called Playa Palancar. It was a long gravel road driveway to get in, but then we ended up at a really nice little beach area, almost as nice as Punta Sur. Unlike Paradise Beach, where we have frequented, there is no pool or manicured lawn but we both really liked it. It was clean and a little more authentic Mexican. A few stands for souveniers (often called flea markets here) a super nice beach, very clear water, some loungers, tables and hammocks, a couple of restaurants and bars.

At some beach clubs, the waiters pester you constantly asking, do you need anything? Is everything ok? Or sales people come by wanting to sell you para sailing, jet skiis rides or massages. Or sometimes to gain entrance, they will make you commit to spending a minimum amount like $10 per person on their food and beverages. Playa Palancar was a lot more relaxed. No entrance fee and beverages much more reasonably priced. There are signs asking you not to bring in any food or drinks, which is standard for beach clubs. We had already eaten at the condo before we left. We sit in loungers on the beach and go up to the bar to get our own beverages which are a beer and a bottle of water ($5 for both, pretty cheap day.)

It is hot and sunny with a few clouds and the water is crystal clear but it was a bit windy and the waves a little too high for my first snorkel lesson. Ian knows that if he tries to teach me and I get water up my nose or so forth that I will never want to try it again. He is calling me 'Chickeneeta' these days because I am chicken when it comes to the ocean. Last year in Costa Rica I was hit by a big wave while we were in the ocean, my sunglasses got knocked off my head and lost, I got water up my nose, my hair was in front of my face and I couldn't see, it was not a nice experience.

Everyone here in Cozumel is happy and friendly. We meet a family from Ohio who sit next to us at the beach, they crack us up as we watch them try to snorkel for the very first time. Walking in flippers, the Dad almost falls over just trying to get into the ocean. The cutest little 7 year old girl breathes through her snorkel when she is not even in the water. The son who can't believe he's actually supposed to put the snorkel in his mouth (it is rented equipment that someone used before.) Finally, they all get their gear on and get in the water, then they attempt to snorkel around about one foot from the shore. Someone should tell them the fish they seek are actually a bit deeper, the girl finds a rock - it's hillarious like a comedy show! Nobody cares, everyone is just here for fun and anything pretty much goes. I guess I won't look that out of place when I do try to snorkel for my first time even if I look hillarious!

Ian made some amazing fruit salad today, the fruit is so fresh and a large selection. I make stirfry for dinner with the biggest prawns we've ever seen! We figure overall the groceries here are about half price compared to home. With all this good eating, we may need to get bigger pants before this trip is over!

Advertisement



19th December 2012

Prawns!
Ok, you can just bring some of those prawns home with you! Other than lobster, prawns are my favorite! sounds like you are having such a good time. good that you are getting out and about to see other things rather than just what most tourists see. Nothing like a tropical rain storm! been through a few of those in my earlier life. i don't do very well when the humidity gets too high, so know what you feel like when every little thing you do makes you feel like you need another shower. not much new around here, fishing still not any good, so send more good vibes! no further snow, and the sun actually shone for a good part of the day, but the wind was nasty and the lake very rough (again). supposed to snow again tomorrow, but hope it isn't much as have to go to Trail. finished all my cookies and tarts today, so think i am all ready for christmas now. that is amazing as it isn't even the 20th yet! Really nice to read you blog's-enjoy them for sure. Cheers, cath

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb