Feliz Navidad.


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cozumel
December 25th 2009
Published: January 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Cozumel


Feliz Navidad , think Julio Iglesias here.

I think I was looking forward to Cozumel the most, just because it's finally time for me to see Mexico, besides a nasty border town. It's Christmas, I speak Spanish, and the tours sound kind of lame, so why don't we just go explore on our own. We'll be okay...

Walking off the ship and through the shops at the pier, there are swindlers everywhere and I'm not in the mood. One guy catches us on our way out to the street. You want a scooter to explore the island. I stop. Hmmm... what comes to mind? Subic Bay and the jet skis that miracuously break down when you're out in the water and they try to make you pay for it because "you broke it" when they scuttled it and sealed it with flour glue. So I listen and let the guys do the talking. It doesn't sound too sketchy. Out comes my Spanish... he's taken aback, but he says that if anything goes wrong with the scooters to wave someone down with a cell phone and he'll come out with a new one.
No, I didn't.No, I didn't.No, I didn't.

This was a joke, but whatever.
FORESHADOWING.

We get two scooters, I think they were about $60 each for six hours and a full tank of gas. He has a nice map and shows us some things to stop at. He straps on our helmets for us and off we go! I have the map, so I figure I better not get us lost. We decide to drive towards the deserted end of the island, mostly beaches and arid fields. The girls are sitting behind the boys and trying not to let bug fly into our mouths. All of 5 miles down the road, Jeremy begins to lose control of the scooter. Did I mention that he's never ridden a motorcycle or a scooter? He starts to freak out a little, doesn't know what to do. I immediately know that we have a flat tire, but he doesn't, so I tell him to gently apply the brake and pull off to the side. "What the ...". It's okay, we just have a flat tire. Of course, I begin to curse myself for even thinking that we might make it through the day on this thing. What are the chances that you get a flat tire? We watch Dave and Amanda ride off into the sunset... hmmm... this isn't good.

Well, they finally notice that we're no longer around and come back to investigate. I start to flag down a taxi. In Spanish, do you have a cell phone? Please, can you call this man? We have a flat tire. Of course, what do you think happens? NO answer. ARgghhhh! Okay, Dave, Amanda, you guys stay here... we're going to take this taxi back and I'm giving him a piece of my mind. We get back, the taxi ride is $10... I look at the guy and, in Spanish again, "why don't you answer your phone? We have a flat tire and now I've just had to pay for a taxi to get to you!" Oh, I'm so sorry... oh, I was in the bathroom (yeah right). Here, take this scooter. Ugh! Fine! We have to get back to Amanda and Dave, so I don't bother with more discussion. We take the next scooter and race to the Baileys.

Okay, sorry... we're back. Thank goodness that happened at 5 miles and not half way around the island, you know? Well, we
What we do best.What we do best.What we do best.

Besides eat and sleep.
continue on to a Rasta bar and a coconut stand. You know me and my coconuts (wow, that sounds a bit off, doesn't it?)... I have to try a coconut in every country I can. It's got nothing on the South Pacific, but it will do.

We stop at something that says "ruins", but it wasn't. We moved on after I took a few snapshots of an iguana and a cute abuelita (little grandmother) sitting on the porch. Off we go again, it's time to see these beaches. Finally, we must succumb to the sun goddess, Amanda. She must have sun! 😊 I'm not much on sand or beaches, but I don't mind a stop. We hang for maybe half an hour, catch a few rays, the boys walk into the water and we pose for some writing in the sand. It was a beautiful day.

Next it's off to some real ruins... this is what I want to see, besides underwater (diving didn't happen because of our exploration). They were well preserved, but we didn't have much time to enjoy them. I knew it wasn't really what the Baileys were into, so I paid for
CoconutsCoconutsCoconuts

My wild tours are never complete without coconuts.
their entrance, though I think they paid for the second part (darn it, I wasn't quick enough). What a pleasant surprise, the grounds were extensive, but again, we have to go! Don't want to miss the ship and we have no clue how far away we are.

It's like off to the races, we speed down the road on our crotch rockets, trying not to get run over. We pass the really touristy spots. I was glad we didn't have time to stop at Margaritaville and other traps... I have to ask a local where the other cruise ships are. It seems there are two terminals in Cozumel and we still had a ways to go. We were supposed to have the scooters back in less than 15 minutes! Yikes! Crunch time. We make it just in time, I forgot that on a small island locals think that 2 miles is far. 😊 I would love to go back to Cozumel for a diving trip, a week long adventure underwater. It was a great stop, a Navidad to remember...


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

The RideThe Ride
The Ride

Okay, the 2nd ride.
Cute Little LadyCute Little Lady
Cute Little Lady

I just thought she was in need of her picture being taken.


23rd January 2010

Ruins!
Krysten, only you could be so sure that you were going to break down that the crotch rocket actually heard you and ran over a nail or whatever! The real ruins are in Tulum, next time you go that's the place to visit and not so much on the commercial stuff as right at Playa del Carmen! At least you're warm and have some sun, SOUTH Carolina does not deserve the South part of the title here! Love Capt Ray

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0765s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb