Golfitos! . . .


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cozumel
November 2nd 2009
Published: November 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A favourite part of repeated contracts on the cruise ships for me is getting to meet up with friends from previous ships. I’m into my final two weeks on the Ecstasy (my replacement, Brian, has arrived and I’ve begun his intro training) but I’ve got a few exciting reunions during these last days. Today in Cozumel was one: I got to meet up with my friend Erica, who I worked with this past winter on the Fantasy.

Cozumel has been a staple port for me during these three years at sea. When I transfer in 2 weeks time, there will be no stops in Cozumel. Considering I don’t know my plans beyond this year, who knows if I’ll be back. So I’ve been trying to fit in all of the last things I need to do here. On the list: mini putt. Seems silly, I know. I can mini putt anywhere. In fact, I can even mini putt on the ship! But this particular mini putt course is sort of infamous amongst crew members, often due to one key point: they give you walkie talkies to take with you around the course to order drinks which will then be delivered to your green! Over the years, I’ve had various dates to go mini putting there fall through, so I had to make sure I finally went.

Chris and Brian came along with me to meet Erica and adventure to the mini golf course. We met Erica outside of the pier and wow, it was so good to see her! We email quite frequently, but still, in person is so much better! We had all sorts of catching up chatting to do as we walked over to the course. It was good that the guys had each other for company as we walked on ahead talking away.

Mini golf was fun. I’m horrible at mini golf, always have been. But Erica and I ended up tied for second, only a point behind Chris. I got a lucky hole in one that must have made up for the rest of my playing! I had some lovely sangria as we played and we all had jello shooters together after the game.

Towards the end of our game, I got a lovely surprise when two crew members from another ship (there were 3 in port today) showed up at the golf course to meet some other people. I got to see Yetro and Tully, both whom I originally met on the Destiny 2 years ago and have seen on a couple ships since. That was a lovely addition to the day.

I know it’s getting cold and dreary back home, so I’m not complaining when I say this . . . it was HOT today! We were baking as we played golf, so after our game, me and the guys when back on the ship to change into our swim suits. Then we headed to No Name Bar (the regular bar we go to, for crew by former crew members) to use the internet and have some lunch and just relax a bit.

A great day! Sooooo good to see Erica. I’m glad I finally went to golfitos. It was good to be off the ship again after some drama has kept me onboard the last week.

Though my legs are covered with Mexican mosquito bites . . .


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Jello Shots All Around!Jello Shots All Around!
Jello Shots All Around!

A post-game toast.


6th November 2009

LOOOOOVE the idea of the walkie talkies. Great pic of you ordering too! haha.

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb