Getting There


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cancun
November 14th 2016
Published: December 7th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Well im leaving Cali again. Last year we had a little bit of a party that rolled into my ride down to the airport. This year not the same! Hahaha...but it was a bit interesting in that the Greyhound bus stop was just on the side of the road on some street. A bit disconcerting when no one else was at the stop at 9:40am when the bus was supposed to leave at 9:40am....anyways, it showed up 10 minutes later and I was off! I arrived in San Francisco 8 hours later to catch a metro to the airport. I am still not a fan of public transport in strange places cuz you just never know...idk...born and raised in rural Minnesota might have that effect. So when 8 people on the subway asked if this stop is the airport and someone said yes and they all got off, at the last minute I followed...they said you might have to transfer but twas a lie...should have stayed put. Anyways I was still quite early so I had time to kill. Got back on the subway and made it to the airport for an overnight flight where I would wake up in sunny Cancun. Well the plane was absolutely freezing so I never did wind up falling asleep. Thats ok cuz Ive pulled all nighters before. I just had to wait 2 more hours for the cheap bus to get to town. A taxi would have been $15 usd where the bus was $3 usd. Seeing how I really felt like this was a repeat of my South America trip I was prepared to do everything the hard way and stick it the tough times to get the cheaper deal so I would be able to experience all activities without fear of financial disaster. Waited and made it to my hostel around 9:30am. So im en route for a full day and the fun lady at the front desk informs me that the hostel is only 40% full but my bed in a 14 bed dorm seems to be occupied til 3pm. Cool...just what I wanted to hear. Its ok cuz ive pulled all nighters that lead into all dayers before too... :/ So I walked around downtown to see the sights which included some park where they were hawking tacos to anyone walking by. There was also a stage where some performers were practicing sweet dance moves. I organized a tour to Chichen Itza for the next day and kind of planned the rest of my Cancun time while waiting to check in and take a much needed nap. The day got long and the beers were cold, so I found myself never reaching nap state buuuuuut I did reach a state where I was comfortable enough in going to bed by 9:30pm. There were lockers in the dorm room for all of your things including an outlet so you could charge your phone while it was locked in a safe place. I had to be up at 6:30 for this tour so I had my stuff in the lower locker, locked, and my phone charging in the upper locker, unlocked so I wouldn’t be fumbling for the keys and waking everyone up with my frantic unlocking to turn off the alarm. For some reason, ESPN probably, I woke up within an hour wondering what time it was. Reached into the open locker and my phone is gone. Cool...looked in the locked locker and all around...nothing. Went to ask the front desk and low and behold their cameras dont work, the front door is open to the building and the dorm room door is open cuz theres no a/c. Sooooo no phone. Back to bed in the hot room cuz I have to be up early. Then the bed bugs decided I didnt need to sleep so they said their hello in the oh so familiar way...i couldnt take any more around 2 am I went back to the front desk to see about another room. Was informed that there was another in the same dorm and I said no. put me in a different room. Got the a/c upgrade in a 14 bed dorm with 2 other people. What does that mean? Well...freezing is what that means...i got about 2 hours of sleep before joining the tour. Oh ps, spoiler alert; the tour lasted 14.5 hours.....hahahahahaha. Soooooo tired.......

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 18; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb