DRAW YOURSELF A MOUSTACHE: My short trip to Mexico


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cancun
August 10th 2006
Published: November 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Draw yourself a moutacheDraw yourself a moutacheDraw yourself a moutache

pictures taken from Goce Delchev, Bulgaria

Cotton fields forever

After a long day of tough cycling near the legs of the Popocatepetel (Mexico’s highest mountain) I finally arrived to the hostel in Don Juan de Las Shmates. I immediately entered the shower, and started to sing loudly one of my greatest shower’s hits - “in a white sea” in its cover version by “shoulders youth” (NO’AR SHULAYIM).
When I reached the B-part (“O-o-o, hachama yokedet…”) I suddenly heard a very lovely female voice from the other side of the wall start singing the A-part ("beyam lavan", and go’ (VE-GO)). After the first shock, I eventually realized that this is probably an Israeli girl, who is surely very beautiful - after all, a girl whose voice is so lovely just can’t look bad.
Well, we had a wonderful time together, my new anonymous girl and me. We sang together this great duo again and again. While singing, I thought about the first sentence I was gonna tell her when we meet at the end of the shower: I should ask her whether she's also a fan of Micki’agi, “shoulders’ youth” eccentric singer.
I dried myself quite fast, and waited for her near the women’s showers. I was so waiting for meeting my new love.
And then door was opened, and she appeared. And… let’s express it like that: contrary to the girl in “shoulders’ youth” most famous song - she didn’t have to draw herself a moustache. And if being a bit more rude (well, without my rudeness I wouldn’t have arrived till the lom) I would say that this girl easily “put in the little pocket” Stalin, Salvador Dali and Amir Peretz, - all together.
‘Well, ugly or not ugly, at least she is Israeli!’, I said to myself, and asked her (in Hebrew): “So, my sister, are you also one of the fans of Micki’agi?”
“Sorry, I don’t speak Hebrew”, she said. “I just learnt this song when I was a volunteer in the Kibbutz. We used to sing it while working in the cotton fields…”

Cotton fields forever: The origin

I was quite satisfied with the way Itamar organized his emails from abroad, and will try to do the same.
Of course, I can't compete with his writing abilities, but I will try to compensate by having TRUE stories.
Yesterday I took a bus to Creel (a lovely town), and arrived there at midnight, and it was heavily raining. After a long walk in the heavy rain, I finally found a nice basic hotel. The first thing I hear when I got here was four guys singing "Hava Nagila" in one of the dormitories. I burst inside, saying: " Finally a known language". They looked at me with round eyes, and said (in English): "We sing in hebrew, but we don't speak hebrew".
Itamar - This is a true story. You can probably write it better, and are welcome to try. send it to everybody if you do, so they will see that my experinces are quite interesting, and not as dulll as I show them.
Hasta La Vista
Guy Levit


Cotton fields forever: a summation

As you can understnd, I decided to pick up the glove, and the result is the first paragraph at this page. One thing I can surely say about it is, that the connection between the story and what happened in reality in this case is much stronger than the usual at the stories I tell.
Ofanan

Travel date: N/A
Mails date: Aug/2003

Old Kato

Advertisement



Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb