Templo y exconvento de las Teresitas


Advertisement
Published: October 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

This church/exconvent complex, a hidden jewel in Queretaro’s historic center, was the last of the 17 monumental convents built in the city during the colonial era & the only neoclassical one. It was built for the Reformed Discalced Carmelites (Barefoot Carmelites) of St. Teresa of Jesus, an order that was established in 1593 by two Spanish saints - Saint Teresa of Ávila and Saint John of the Cross. The founding nuns arrived in Querétaro in 1802. Construction of the complex was completed in 1805.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Located on Calle Reforma near the Corregidora
In swapped RGB channelsIn swapped RGB channels
In swapped RGB channels

In 1867, during the fall of the Second Empire, the exconvent served as a prison for Archduke Maximilian of the Habsburgs. Today, the exconvent serves as the Episcopal Headquarters & the Conservatory of Music.


Santa Teresa?
Choir loftChoir loft
Choir loft

Paintings by Edward J. Tresguerras who was responsible for the interior decoration.


In swapped RGB channels




10th October 2014

Holy smoke, Rainy,
seventeen churches and convents! It's hard to fathom such an enormous number in a small city, and even more incredible that the nuns managed to get this one built in only five years! I like the pastel colours, which you have rendered so nicely. Many thanks for letting us know about his one.
10th October 2014

After all the convents I've visited in Mexico & other places, I learned someting new on this one - that Discalced Carmelites are barefooted Carmelites ;o)
29th October 2014

Lovely details. I like the ceiling.
14th August 2021
INTERIOR

Queretaro sounds so familiar
To me Queretaro sounds very familiar. I think that I when I was in Mexico over Christmas and New Year 2009 was looking at Queretaro as a potential place to visit. When I look at my blogs from that trip it looks like I never went there though. So Queretaro is still on my to-do list. /Ake

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb