This church/exconvent complex, a hidden jewel in Queretaro’s historic center, was the last of the 17 monumental convents built in the city during the colonial era & the only neoclassical one. It was built for the Reformed Discalced Carmelites (Barefoot Carmelites) of St. Teresa of Jesus, an order that was established in 1593 by two Spanish saints - Saint Teresa of Ávila and Saint John of the Cross. The founding nuns arrived in Querétaro in 1802. Construction of the complex was completed in 1805.
In swapped RGB channelsIn 1867, during the fall of the Second Empire, the exconvent served as a prison for Archduke Maximilian of the Habsburgs. Today, the exconvent serves as the Episcopal Headquarters & the Conservatory of Music.