Hello again!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Puebla » Puebla City
September 27th 2010
Published: September 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello!
Wow, I really got lazy about this blogging thing. Apparently you guys like it though. So, I will try and be more up on it. The problem I saw was that life here has become sort of monotonous. I go to work, sleep, eat, run, skateboard and hang out with friends not much else. But, someone told me I have to make the boring interesting so that is what I will do.

First things first, I have moved house (as the British say). I now live much farther away from my job and girlfriend. It does have its benefits though. I now have hot water 24/7. For those who I have kept in touch with, you may remember my old apartment had solar heated water. This was a problem in the rainy season here. Other than that, I have a larger apartment for almost the same price, it is also fully furnished which is nice. I also live in a much cheaper zone, next to a market and lots of food options. I also live next to a friend from work, Javier, which is nice.

Work for me is the same. Lots of classes and decent pay. For Maria, things are going very well. She is traveling throughout the state taking pictures of tourist destinations, and while the job is temporary she earns as much as I do. Some of the destinations look amazing and others are meh. I will add some links to the photos. Financially, we have been doing well here, able to live a comfortable simple life.

In my free time I have been reading a lot, in Spanish and English. I hope to take the Cervantes exam next year, which is a Spanish certificate (similar to the First certificate for ESL). I figure I might as well, it lasts for life and will most likely help me out in the future. I also have been skating and decorating the apartment to my taste. Things are coming together slowly, but that is life here. I will probably have a big shock when I come home. Ah yes, and of course we have been going to local events; soccer games, fairs concerts and movies. The most recent outing was Las luchas. The wrestling here is really fun. Someone told me once, it is more fun if you believe it is real, which is absolutely true. If ever in Mexico, wrestling is a must. I also, finally bought a mask.

Probably the biggest news is that Maria and I will be coming home in December for almost an entire month (dec 11th - Jan 7th). I hope to see everyone then and catch up. For you guys, you will be able to meet the Mexican woman who has stolen me away for over a year now. My how time flies. We are also looking at coming home for a semi-permanent stint in one year. By that time will have received her title, which is pending the completion of her thesis. The time at home will hopefully allow both of us to figure out our next step. We are really excited and hope you guys are too! If you have any ideas or special plans let us know!

I hope everyone has had an amazing summer! I promise to pay more attention to the blog, and keep you updated, otherwise email or facebook (since my whole family is on it now) are an easy way to get a hold of us. Take care!

Love,
Jake

Oh yea, sorry for the lack of pics (Maria has stolen my camera on her outings)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb