Cholula and Puebla .


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Puebla » Cholula
March 1st 2015
Published: March 1st 2015
Edit Blog Post

As I had said earlier I chose to stay in Mexico City and do day trips every second day . It was a good balance for me as in the city I would walk and walk and walk and walk and it was good to sit and ride a bus /van and have a guide on alternate days . I do think it would be good to stay in some of the places I visited for each has it's own character , remarkable architecture , and food specialties ! Maybe another time .

So , here are some pics from Cholula and Puebla . Cuernavaca , Taxco and Teotihuacan will come later .


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

CholulaCholula
Cholula

This city was the first captured and destroyed by the Spanish in the early 1500's . The church is built on the top of the pyramid which is the WIDEST pyramid known . The city itself has more churches than Montreal !!
PueblaPuebla
Puebla

I thought that mole was THE cooking sauce of the Oaxaca but it turns out it is one of the regional specialties of Puebla... and it is good!
BrailleBraille
Braille

A door plate opposite one in Spanish and English . I continue to marvel that people consider Mexico to be undeveloped/archaic in some fashion.
Looking across the Zocolo Looking across the Zocolo
Looking across the Zocolo

The cathedral here was another amazing piece of architecture and the Christmas tree was wonderful
Community CelebratesCommunity Celebrates
Community Celebrates

This was the week before Christmas and the holiday season had begun.
Dec-Mexico 14-15 079Dec-Mexico 14-15 079
Dec-Mexico 14-15 079

A mingling of Renaissance and Baroque styles the interior of this 1550-1640 church was awesome. The towers are 69 meters , the tallest in Mexico
Templo de Santo DomingoTemplo de Santo Domingo
Templo de Santo Domingo

This is the Capilla del Rosario .all inlaid silver and gold leaf . It is /was a Dominican Church and although not as ornate as some I've seen ( most notably in Oaxaca) . I do think I prefer the Franciscan and Jesuit styles.
The ceilingThe ceiling
The ceiling

Gilded plaster , carved stone ,angels ,cherubim and even a heavenly orchestra.
In/on the pedwayIn/on the pedway
In/on the pedway

ALWAYS music somewhere . This gentleman not only played his drums he sang!
The domeThe dome
The dome

I do like those domes.
Templo de San Francisco ...I thinkTemplo de San Francisco ...I think
Templo de San Francisco ...I think

Saw this chuch as we were leaving town and I was intrigued by the mix of styles . Not really unusual given that so many of these structures are 300 and 400 years old and have existed through so many changing fashions that impact on maintainance and in some cases restoration and remodelling.
PopocatepetlPopocatepetl
Popocatepetl

A real live volcano . Some days there are advisories because it is belching a lot but I understand this is quite typical . Signs of activity but not a problem.


2nd March 2015

Great pics
You do a super job with your pics. You could make postcards & make some denero ( :) ). So interesting. Tks for the sites! Seen & unseen (by us). love,
2nd March 2015
Looking across the Zocolo

Hi Pam. Glad your having a good time. The architecture is really beautiful. When we were there in 2013, the volcano spewed smoke constantly. I loved the people. Yes, you are 100% correct, they are not archaic! Have fun!
3rd March 2015
Popocatepetl

Thanks!
We need to know, does Cholula sauce come from Cholula? (My

Tot: 0.416s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb