The Mexican Central Pacific Coast


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Puerto Escondido
August 23rd 2007
Published: August 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well after leaving La Ticla we made our way south to Zihuatanejo and Ixtapa. Zihuat being a mexican holiday destination and Ixtapa being a tourist high rise destination. So we stayed obvoiusly in Zihuat and and went surfing at Trocones. It was here that I got the worst sun burn I have ever had on my back. After 3 days of no sleep I started to blister and I had to go to the doctor. It took 2 weeks to heal.

Another medical disaster occured here too as I had a hole in my tooth that was starting to get really painful. So I found a dentist and I had a filling without anaesthetic! Not a pleasant experience. Especially when you don't speak Spanish and your friend is translating that the dentist is calling her brother to get straps to hold me down. Bastard!

SO after Zihuat we went down to Acapulco for the weekend. Not a nice place at all but the nightlife is pretty exciting and the Palladium is a must. We also went to the place where they filmed Rambo - rubbish really.

Cynthia came to visit for a week from Toronto and we had an awesome time. We went South to Puerto Escondido and I surfed again. Not on Zicatela though as this is the Mexican Pipeline which is a bone breaker for a novice like me. We did make a big mistake though in hiring a car to get to Oaxaca as the roads were awful and the bus would have been easier and certainly a lot stressful.

After returning back to Acapulco I bought a ticket with AeroMexico from Mexico City to Buenos Aires and from Lima to New York for the end of November. I left Mexico the next day.

All in all a great country with great people. The only drawback was the shits and the police that just loved to bribe us at any opportunity. I actually got used to the police drill and I was chuffed they never got a penny from me.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb