Oaxaca with Donzetta


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca » Monte Albon
March 18th 2012
Published: March 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

La VistaLa VistaLa Vista

A view of the mountains from the window of my room.
I arrived safely in Oaxaca Wednesday night. I have a great room at La Posada de Los Angeles with two large beds, a bathroom and cooking facilities. I spent Thursday getting everthing arranged in my room, which I hope to occupy for the next 2 1/2 months. (It seems that there was a mixup at check-in and I got a super-sized room. So far no one has asked me to move). I also went to El Instituto Cultural Oaxaca to discuss what classes I would take and the possibility of traveling to the coast to visit the towns with the Afro-Meztizos who are the descendants of the African slaves who were influenced by the spanish/indian culture.I also discussed visiting a traditional medicine clinic. On Friday I went to the bank to withdraw pesos to pay my first installment on my tuition. When I went to the school there were having a celebration called "Las Aguas". As I understand from one of the school staff this celebrates the Bible story of when Jesus met the woman at the well and she gave him water. The school provided three flavored water, La Chata, La Jaimica and a water with squash, that I liked
Mi CuartoMi CuartoMi Cuarto

My big room with the two double beds.
the best. In a separate part of the school garden there were a lot of Government dignitaries and other important people gathered to celebrate this feast also. The people of Oaxaca always take the opportunity to celebrate. After leaving the school I went to the Friday Llano Park Market. I brought lots of fruits and vegetables which was a real trial to walk home with...since I am now totally on foot. I was exhausted when I arrived at the Posada. On satuday I worked on the computer and I found this travel blog site and decided to use it. Let me know how it works. In the afternoon I went to PITICO, which is a small chain grocery store and shopped for some grocery needs. Another afternoon to walk home with many sacks...estuve muy cansada!! On Sunday morning (this morning) I arose to go to mass. When I went outside much to my surprise there were about 10 motorcycles parked in the garden of the posada. It turns out there are lots of motorcyclists staying in the same posada as I am!! After I returned from mass and when they had returned from riding I asked to take pictures. I
Mi bano privadoMi bano privadoMi bano privado

My private bathroom. I love it!
will include one or two of them. I am now inside for the day. I am going to cook and to get ready for school tomorrow. I am trying to include everything in today's post because after school starts I will be very busy and very tired. I hope you enjoy it all.

Donzetta


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

La Entrada de la PosadaLa Entrada de la Posada
La Entrada de la Posada

The entrance to the Posada with Jesus, the weekend manager.
Los GuaposLos Guapos
Los Guapos

The handsome motorcylists that are staying in my posada!
Los Guapos y YoLos Guapos y Yo
Los Guapos y Yo

The handsome ones and me!


18th March 2012

Que Alegria!
I'm extremely happy for you. I know you'll have a great time in Oxaca. Did you find "guanabana" in the fruits section of the market? Maybe it has a different name in Mexico, but it is my favorite fruit. Don't miss the opportunity to try it. Here in the US is almost impossible to find. I wish you the best in those 2 1/2 months. We'll miss you at Catholic Charities.
19th March 2012

I'm so happy to hear from you!
Hi Heidi, I am so happy to get your post. This makes me feel connected to home. I will ask my instructor, Angeles, and I am sure she can tell me about the fruit and where to find it. Angeles has an identical twin who also teaches here. Mary Carmen taught me the first summer here and the next summer, Angeles taught me. I thought they were one in the same until Angeles told me about her "gamela". Bye for now.
19th March 2012
Los Guapos y Yo

Hola
Hola mi amiga: Muy Beuno. El nino esta caliente. So very proud of you. It takes real courage to leave the known for the unknown. Love you. Traci.
19th March 2012
Los Guapos y Yo

Pero mi Dios esta conmigo
Traci, I have small bouts of fear, but then God reminds me that He is with me and He is guiding my every step, according to His purpose for me and then I am no longer afraid.
19th March 2012

thank you for your posts!!
This is great, Donzetta. Now don't you go off with one of those motorcycle guys. ha ha I love hearing about your travels and the pictures. I am looking forward to updates but know you are going to be a busy gal. Congratulations. Love LaVerne
19th March 2012

In my dreams!
Laverne, that would be a dream come true, but alas the group left to go back home to D.F. (Mexico City). But they were very friendly guys and I do have an e-mail for one.
19th March 2012

thank you for your posts!!
This is great, Donzetta. Now don't you go off with one of those motorcycle guys. ha ha I love hearing about your travels and the pictures. I am looking forward to updates but know you are going to be a busy gal. Congratulations. Love LaVerne
19th March 2012

WOW
Donzetta, I love your blog. What a great way to share your experience with us. I want to do something like this when I start to travel and you have set the standard for me. It would be great to hear about the life style there and their customs. More pictures please. This is exciting, I feel like I am sharing your adventures. SB
19th March 2012

Thank you for your comments
I am so glad that I am able to inspire you for you are truly an inspiration to me. I look forward to you pictures from Alaska. I am going to post further in a few minutes
21st March 2012

hi again
I hope you heard from your friends and they are ok. That earthquake was around Mex City. I was glad it wasn't any where close to you but then I re-read your last post and saw that your friends were headed there.
21st March 2012

hi again
I hope you heard from your friends and they are ok. That earthquake was around Mex City. I was glad it wasn't any where close to you but then I re-read your last post and saw that your friends were headed there.
21st March 2012

hi again
I hope you heard from your friends and they are ok. That earthquake was around Mex City. I was glad it wasn't any where close to you but then I re-read your last post and saw that your friends were headed there.
21st March 2012

Temblor
I am going to try this again. The earthquake was near us, on the border of the state of Oaxaca and Guerrero (where Acapulco is). We felt it strongly and had to evacuate the building several times. People from other continents were very afraid because they had never been in an earthquake before. All appears to be well now. I hope all went well with the riders. The news says that there were no people hurt.
22nd March 2012

earthquake info
I say Thank you God for keeping everyone safe. I had been in many earthquakes in Calif and they happen so fast there's no time to think but after when the aftershocks come then you wonder about everyone and everything. We never had damage other than some broken dishes and cracks in the patio. I'm glad you are safe.
23rd March 2012

Yo tambien
Laverne, I am also glad that we are safe. We had another alarm yesterday but we did not feel anything. I am trusting God completely.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb