Escuela in Cuernavaca, Mexico


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Cuernavaca
January 25th 2010
Published: January 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hola!
I am switching gears and have moved from China to Mexico, a place I feel much more comfortable with since I speak some Spanish. I have always wanted to attend a Spanish language immersion program but have never had the opportunity. Usually the programs are multiple weeks in length and that just didn’t fit into my home or work schedule.
Fortunately for me a group of California Diabetes Educators put together this language school trip, specifically to improve medical Spanish skills. I am departing Phoenix in just a little while on my way to Mexico City, then Cuernavaca, a city with several language schools. Our program consists of six hours a day of Spanish, three that are conversational Spanish and three that are diabetes specific. They are breaking us down into small groups so we can be at the right level. That said, I am not really sure what level I should be in….I took four years of high school Spanish and loved it, then two years in college, but have not had the opportunity to practice very much! We will see what happens.
The challenge will be to keep up the skills once I return. Maybe we will need to make this trip a regular occurrence.
We enjoyed the drive to Cuernavaca with the snow covered mountain views! We arrived at our hotel and took a walk around the grounds then met up with several others for dinner and drinks.
Our hotel is charming with rooms all around a courtyard, a nice restaurant and bar, and about 27 Diabetes Educators!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb