Week 2, time to start teaching


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Michoacán » Morelia
August 14th 2010
Published: August 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Tequila Sunset Hostel in MoreliaTequila Sunset Hostel in MoreliaTequila Sunset Hostel in Morelia

Great place to stay if you're ever in Morelia, good people, good staff, good times...
Trying to add pics but none of these computers are allowing me. As soon as I can, I'll add a few.

So before we start the teaching, there's still a little time during the weekend for some fun in Morelia. Spent the weekend at the tequila sunset hostel, which I would definitely recommend to anyone who plans on passing through. The guys who work there are great, you meet interesting people and it's close enoughto the city center. Thursday night met a girl who just happened to be from Dallas, strange coincidence. So she invited us to some random house party. Everyone was really nice and I was able to practice my drunken Spanish (which in my opinion was pretty good, so I think). Half of the people at the party thought Dave looked a lot like one of the characters from the Harry potter movies, apparently he's gotten this before. Then it was back to the hostel for some late night/early morning drinking.

The rest of the weekend was a little bit of exploring the city followed by afternoon drinking then evening drinking (youbcan see where some of my money has gone). And I actually could get a proper breakfast. Back in uruetaro, I was only having toast and yogurt before school, then not eating lunch til after 2. All of my old coworkers know all about my eating habits, so this was a major adjustment and not one I was ready to get used to. (when the weekends came around, it became a little bit of a joke that i was always hungry). We quickly found a favorite spot for beers, two for one, and molletes. Every time we arrived there after, they knew what we wanted.

Sunday night came and it was time for any final preparations. I had to come up with mini lesson plans, something I probably shouldve started on before the trip. I was a bit nervous because I really had no idea what I was doing. Each day was a four day block, two hours of english and two hours of activity does t sound like much but can be very difficult to fill. It was very basic stuff that we started out and my kids were 8 to 9 years old. Greetings, the alphabet, colors and classroom vocabulary fills the first week of english classes while my activities were teaching ramones and weezer songs. While this was sufficient for the first week, I was already running out of stuff, with another week to go. (we would have one group for two weeks then another group for one week.) what saved me was thei fascination wight the game hangman, my savior.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Getting ready for game timeGetting ready for game time
Getting ready for game time

Me, Sam, Dave and Lottie warming up for the game...
Indio!!Indio!!
Indio!!

This is how we warm up, just like the pros
Luke and meLuke and me
Luke and me

enjoying a little gametime indio and sushi


16th August 2010

I love hangman!! :)

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb