Good, bad, and sad


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Michoacán » Morelia
May 15th 2008
Published: May 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have good news and bad! Well, the bad isn't really "bad", its just sad stuff we were talking about in class.
Good: I bought a guitar in Paracho and am learning! My friend Ben is teaching me, and he is a great teacher. The main problem is that I don't have a tuner, and really can't tune without one (not yet anyway!) So when I practice at home it sounds horrible.
Other good news is about the orphanage! Alexa's dad's company has donated $800 to the orphanage!! Which is so amazing. I've set up the website, but the PayPal account still isn't up, so we don;t have a way for other people to donate. Today she talked to the owner of the orphanage about what the kids need- basic stuff like underwear and bras, mops, soap, toilet paper, pencils and paper, crayons, shoes, socks, toothbrushes, etc. Also, Michelle found a teacher in Oregon who might like to make it a class project and collect donations for the students.
We visited the orphanage today, and the kids were very fun- still dirty and in need of shoes, and showing hints of abuse (for example, one girl wrote on the paper we brought "Dear Mom, Thanks for not leaving me on the street... I love you"). We're going on a shopping trip soon to buy some of the above. In the meantime, you can see the (in progress) website here: http://casahogar.wetpaint.com/
Sad topics:
In both my migration class and my Culture class we talked about the maquiladoras (assembly lines) and Cuidad Juarez and the hundreds of women who have been murdered there. Its been going on since 1991, and the murders are still going on, and likely will only stop when Americans get involved, since 80%!o(MISSING)f the maquilas are owned by the US. There are a lot of good documentaries and websites that can explain it way better than I ever could:.
Amnesty International has a lot of good information on it
No pictures for today! Sorry!
See you next time.


Advertisement



16th May 2008

good bad and sad
Very interesting - guitar, orphanage and classroom content. What an interesting mix in your life these days!

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0755s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb