What is a mission trip?


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Guadalajara
July 16th 2014
Published: July 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

After I tell people that I've returned from a mission trip, one of the most common questions I get is “What is a mission trip?” After pondering over this question myself, I set out to create this album to answer that question.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

OneOne
One

Let's start with Pastor Chu. Twelve years ago he moved himself, his wife, and his daughter to Guadalajara, Mexico to plant a church.
TwoTwo
Two

Our first task was helping with construction at the church. The church has added additional floors and rooms which will ultimately be used as classrooms for a school.
ThreeThree
Three

We worked for three day tearing up concrete, laying tile, and painting beams. It was good for the soul.
FourFour
Four

On the third day, we had a terrible accident. While moving a ladder I spilled a paint bucket.
FiveFive
Five

This is Javier - el jefe. "Ten years ago I used to drink and drink. I would come home and fight a lot with my wife." "Because I could not control myself, I've given up drinking completely." Javier is now a house church shepherd and serves faithfully as a leader in church.
SixSix
Six

We also worked alongside Adrian, another house church shepherd. Working on the roof one day, he shared stories of his life before coming to Christ: "I used to sell marijuana in the United States, in Norte Carolina." "Back then, you could ship it via UPS. One day one of the boxes fell in the truck and bust open, and they saw it was marijuana." “The cops taped it back up and sent it along. When I go pick it up from my sister’s house, Feds pop out of everywhere – the bathroom, the bedroom, everywhere.”
SevenSeven
Seven

2 Corinthians 5:17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!
EightEight
Eight

Friday night we had house church, just like back home in New York. We ate, sang, shared, prayed, and had a great time. I told them I’d share their prayer requests so people could pray for them in America. Jose – Quit drugs Maritza – To be able to watch her son grow (her newborn just had surgery); for her husband (Jose) to quit drugs and be able to take care of their kid Alma – Health and healing of pain in right leg Juan (shepherd) – New house church members and good work Elena – That her son comes to church and does not stray Maria – That her daughters receive Christ Armando – Wisdom, straight path Jason – Wisdom, faithfulness, and self-control upon returning to New York Allie – Get into nursing school
NineNine
Nine

After four days, we traveled four hours outside Guadalajara to the village of Juanacatle. Honestly, serving there was tough. But there were plenty of laughs...
TenTen
Ten

Plenty of prayer...
ElevenEleven
Eleven

And plenty of kids to love and serve.
TwelveTwelve
Twelve

By the end of it we were pretty cashed out. But what a privilege it was to serve.


Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0731s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb