Thursday February 13- Friday February 14, Valentine's Day


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Ajijic
February 15th 2014
Published: February 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Thursday, February 13

Rick suggested that we go into Chapala today. A few weeks ago we had looked at jewelry in the Ajijic Plaza during a jewelry show and there was one of the stands that I found many unique pieces that I liked. He was ready to buy me a valentine’s gift that I could wear during the Valentine’s dinner he has planned for tomorrow. (He is really trying to make up for my disappointment on my birthday. He is doing a great job.)

I found a necklace I liked but I wanted a different stone. The jeweler told us to go for a walk and come back in an hour. He replaced the colourful stone in the necklace with a large obsidian stone. I was very pleased with this stone as when we visited the Guachimontones (Teuchitlan Pyramids), this was the natural lava rock that we saw sparking on the ground. My necklace is made of this same polished rock. He also made a bracelet and earrings with the same leather and some black beads to match.

Thursday, February 14



We had dinner reservations at Number 4 Restaurant in Ajijic. This is one of the better if not the best restaurant in town. It was a full house and we had a very good table with a nice view of the stage. The meal was wonderful, the entertainment extremely good but there was a bit of a disaster. The computer system failed and the staff had to resort to manually taking orders. This affected the kitchen staff as well. With such a packed house, the wait staff was physically running to ensure meals weren't delayed too long. The service was very slow but it wasn't the fault of anyone, they certainly put all effort into dealing with the problem. The end result was that we probably stayed much longer than we would have normally staid and enjoyed the entertainment well past our bedtime.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



15th February 2014

Love your blog!
Carolyn, I absolutely love reading your blog entries! It makes my day when I see new updates in my email. I'm from Halifax, Nova Scotia, but I'll be moving this summer to live in Ajijic, and have been researching everything online about the area for 18 months now. I visited Ajijic for a week last spring, and fell in love with it immediately! Your blog and photos make my research that much more interesting and personalized. Thank you and I hope that we get to meet once I move there! Sue.
11th March 2014

Thanks Sue
Sue, thanks for your comments. Sorry I'm behind in my updates but I'm going to work on it this week. I have a good friend who lives in Bridgewater Nova Scotia, are you anywhere near there? Ajijic is an amazing place to live we are loving it but we will be gone by the first of May.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb