The City


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato
November 28th 2005
Published: January 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The CityThe CityThe City

Here is a view of the area where I live
Como Estas Amigos! I thought it be cool to document my adventures/experiences while here in Guanajaunto. And just so you know this won’t be a BS type blog where all I do is whine about how different México is from the US, no sir, this me keeping it 100% real. Also each entry will done is the Seinfeld style of simple name (ex. the city, the jeans, you get the idea). So without further ado>let the show begin.

First a little background on Guanajaunto. Guanajaunto is located smack in the middle of México and is one of 31 states in México. Guanajaunto, Guanajaunto is where I am (the Capital of the state of Guanajaunto is Guanajaunto). This city was originally founded for mining silver, Guanajaunto means land of the frogs (though I have seen more dogs than any other animal...but that is for another entry) it is 1 mile above sea level (so good weather all year. today it was 73) and there are roughly 1.2 million folks here.

Now that the history lesson is over let me get to my take on things...THIS PLACE IS F#$@&! UP!!! Nawh I'm playin, Guanajaunto is a really interesting city. It is very much like any major city, minus the malls, car dealerships, sports teams, and crime. It really reminds me of a small scale New York>tons of small specialized stores, people out walking, eating, partying... just doing whatever 24/7 and tons of taxis and buses. Everything else is the same; fat folks, bootleg DVD’s, beer, chicken, cable tv, > you name it, and it is here (if not there is Spanish version of it or just a bootleg version of it somewhere).

The thing that makes this place fun is the little difference. For example…the cars here look the same as US models, but have different names (the Ford 500 is the Moderno, The VW Passat is the Polo). Another thing is that NONE of the houses have heat or AC and they are made of either stone or concrete. Also people still drive old school VW Bugs and the guys here wear Brute and English leather like it was ’85.
Do you know what they call a Big Mac in México? They don’t call them anything cause there isn’t a McDonald’s any where near here, as a matter of fact the only fast food chains that are here are Dominos and Dunkin’ Donuts (I couldn’t believe there was no Taco Bell…what type of shit is that)

Overall this should be a grand experience and I hope you enjoy what I have to share with you. Until next time kids…oh yeah, don’t forget to drink your Ovaltine!



Advertisement



29th November 2005

Nice
Great webbie. This seems really cool. Just wish your thesis was good as your blog. Just kidding. Man, miss you much and hope your having fun. Your sands, 2
29th November 2005

Enjoy every bit of the Experience!!!
Hey, what's up GJ? This is a great idea, and I look forward to hearing more about your experience. I was in Monterrey, Mexico the last week of September and first week of October . . . Mexico is beautiful. Enjoy every bit of your experience. I am currently in Brazil, 6 weeks. My travel experiences over the last year and a half will be documented by photos and a few blog comments, the pictures will bring back the memories for me. Well, until next time. . . take care of yourself and be safe. . . T
29th November 2005

GOOOD START
GJ what's crackin pimpin? Mexico huh? Moseley es en Mexico tambien. Si yo hablo espanol un pequito mi amigo. Man, I didn't realize ya'll made that move already. Live it up and keep us posted. Get me the bootleg Paul Wall down there.
5th December 2005

Well at least you got Dunkin Donuts! You can't find one here in LA. It's all Starbucks! Make sure your Spanish is tight 'cause I'ma quiz you up when I see you! (ha ha!!)
7th December 2005

Under the surface
Good blog. With me being a social science buff, I am curious about the black experience. Are there other af ams their? Are there any people with a little "negro" ancestory from what you can tell? Adios tu pinche miate grande?:)

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb