San Miguel is now a UNESCO World Heritage Site


Advertisement
Published: July 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

View From Our RoofView From Our RoofView From Our Roof

Principal de la Luz
Last night, while sitting and reading a book, a giant loud cracking sound exploded near us and scared Byron to death! Okay, us a little too...I looked up in the sky and saw the tails of fireworks. It has been announced that SMA is now a UNESCO world heritage site. It is a a huge deal and all of the people of San Miguel are glowing with pride at their honored city.

The days have been coming and going. The other day, Ronnie and I played "tourist" and headed to the Centro. As soon as we arrived, rain started to gush down and the crowded streets we suddenly barren. Everyone squeezed under various coverage to protect themselves. We did the same thing for a little while, but our hunger pressed us forward. We ran in the rain until we reached La Posadita, a restaurant we had been meaning to try. We ordered their special of the house which was pozole verde ...a type of chicken and bean soup in a green broth served with avocado, onions, chilies and various spices to flavor it as you please. Ronnie was a bit too brave for his own good and added 3
Walkway to Roof TopWalkway to Roof TopWalkway to Roof Top

Love all the plants!
scoops of red pepper and several scoops of chilies! By the time we were done, the rain had stopped so we wandered around town for a while and then stopped for a happy hour. We walked some more and then the sky opened up once again, so we dove into San Augustin. This place is known for their hot chocolate and each order comes with churros. With our sweet teeth taken care of, we ran to the bus stop and crowded with other people under the cover. After waiting for over a half hour, we hopped into a cab, but the car died before we started to go! So into another cab we went and arrived safely home.

The next day, I got up early to go and sign-up for my Spanish lessons at Warren Hardy. On the walk to the school, I need to hold onto Ronnie as I was feeling lightheaded. I signed papers, got my materials, and we headed back up the hill to get a bite to eat at the Bella Artes cafe. I continued to feel worse and worse and when Ronnie's food arrived, I had to excuse myself. The sight of food made me green. We hopped in the next taxi and got me home. I soon figured out that I had some sort of stomach flu. I had the chills and then the sweats and stomach cramps....and not much has changed since then. Nights have been very difficult having the chills, but Ronnie and has been taking very good care of me and Eleanor sends me regalos or get well presents such as simple rice to eat. It has been two and a half days now and so I hope it will be all gone by tomorrow morning. Yo soy enferma! (I am sick!)

The rain continues daily. It does brake for a few hours in the middle of the day, but then always comes back. It certainly is the rainy season.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Archway painting by RonnieArchway painting by Ronnie
Archway painting by Ronnie

This is a wall we use as a marker as to know when to hop out of a taxi or off the bus.
Jardin Wall by RonnieJardin Wall by Ronnie
Jardin Wall by Ronnie

He drew this while we sipped beer in the Jardin


9th July 2008

You didn't have stomach flu, you had food poisoning.
10th July 2008

Since it has lasted 3 days and is mostly gone, perhaps. But no vomiting! Yay!
14th August 2008

yuck
Glad you only got this once - I bet your system is getting used to everything.

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb