From Film Festivals to Riots in the Streets: Bienvenidos a Mexico


Advertisement
Published: July 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ok guys,

My last entry must have been really boring because nobody commented on it. I agree. I just reread it, and it IS really boring. I'll try to spice things up a bit.

So this weekend there's a film festival in San Miguel and all of the shows are free to the public! The name of the festival is Expresion en Corto which pretty much sums it up. The films are all very short and it's all about expression and giving struggling filmmakers a place to show their work. On Saturday, I went with my other two housemates to Teatro Angela Peralta (the major theater in town) to see the documentary ¨Lost and Found in Mexico¨by Caren Cross. (Who, incidentally, we met the night before because her daughter runs a summer art camp for Amercian teenagers on our street and we went to the exposition.) Everything happens very randomly in San Miguel.

Anyways, I enjoyed the documentary even more than I thought I would. Tia, if you are reading this, I'm talking about the film that you found the website for before I left the States. It is very fitting to my situation because it's about people from the US who come to San Miguel to visit. The only difference is that they buy houses and settle down here. They are generally older people who want a change of pace. Also, interestingly enough, San Miguel does not discriminate based on age, so I can see why they like it here. You see older ppl at the bars, in the park, in school, and usually dressed in youthful attire.

I think that it's wonderful that the ages mix, I just sometimes wish there were more young people! Dr. Wes told me that the young ppl of San Miguel call the ¨jardin¨or central plaza ¨Jurassic Park¨ because I guess it's not hip to go there if you are young. It's where the ¨dinosaurs¨meet. However, I like to hang out there and watch people. Plus, if you're lucky you can strike up a conversation in Spanish. Also, I can usually find someone from my school there. There are always men selling balloons and toys for children. It's a happening place, if your definition of ¨happening¨is passing the time doing not a whole lot of anything. Come on, it doesn't get much better than that. I mean, everybody needs to rest. What's the point of trying to be productive all of the time?

Guess what?! Guess what?! I just met with a family who is going to be my new host family. I've been thinking about switching for awhile now. As you already know, I am very happy with my current family. I'm switching because I want to be closer to downtown, and because I want a new experience and to try some new cooking. Adella is a good cook, but as we all know, every family has its own repertoire of dishes that eventually gets repeated over and over. This way I get to have more of a variety. The best part is the Marina is very very warm and welcoming. The students that are living with her now are leaving this coming weekend...so I move in on Sunday! I am not positive if I will have a single room, because I still need to sort that out with her. I'm very excited about the change! I will try to savor the time I have left with the Guerrero Arana family. I will miss little Juan Carlitos and his baby babbling. What I like about my new family is that they remind me of my friends in Panama. I can already tell that they make you a part of the family.


Does anyone have any questions? I feel like I'm covering a lot of ground, but I also feel like I might be repeating myself. I know you want pictures, but I don't have a cable to connect my camera to a computer. Maybe when my mom comes in August I can get her to bring one. I haven't talked much about religion yet. Maybe I'll dedicate an entry to that. I probably should go to mass first before I try to tackle that one. I also may be taking more seminars next month that deal with cultural issues.

I know you want to hear lots of stories about corruption, because it's something we Americans associate with Mexico. I can tell you that the police will take your license plate for ransom if you illegally park. I saw a policeman holding license plates in his hand and asked my house father about it. He said it's the only way ppl will pay their fines. Also, some guys from my school got arrested (something involving pot) and the police took their money and they spent a night in jail. Luckily, only one night.

A lot of horrible things are going on in Oaxaca right now. A union of teachers called the APPO is rioting because they didn't get paid last year. I just read in the paper a letter to the editor from educators asking that their friends be released. Apparently they were kidnapped from a taxi and taken to be interrogated because of their supposed involvement in the riots. Can you imagine? Our letters to the editor are usually so petty. I wish more Americans would get out of their bubble. Freedom of speech is a privilege and a responsibility. It doesn't come easily.

Ok, I hardly ever get into politics without being provoked, so I know it's time for me to go. Don't forget to let me know if you have any questions!

Advertisement



24th July 2007

VIVA OAXACA!!!
I am a fellow traveler and currently living in Mexico. I just spent a week in Oaxaca and while there are problems it shouldn't deter people from traveling there. It's not as bad as the news and papers are making it seem either! The people in Oaxaca can only survive with tourism. VIVA OAXACA!!!
24th July 2007

who do you think you are? Phil... with all these blogs. hahah
24th July 2007

Living Vicariously
Hey Squeeker, Just cuz folks aren't commenting doesn't mean we aren't dazzled by the exquisite palette of colors you are painting from! Keep 'em coming.... VT Velociraptor
24th July 2007

Biz!
I love your blogs! As you already know, I'm living out my dreams of being in Mexico right now through you, so I love hearing about what's going on. Oh, and I'm expecting some dinner nights in the future with some of the Mexican platos you're learning to make! ;-)
25th July 2007

Saludos y felicitaciones
Muy estimada señorita Elizabeta, Yo estoy muy contento que leo tu página, pero no entiendo porque no estás escribiendo en el Español si estás aprendiéndolo. You mentioned the cooking and perhaps I have come in late on the series, but I would like to know what dishes you've found best and even a recipe or two (or three). That would spice up the blog somewhat (pardon the pun). I remember when I was working in Guatemala and Mexico that I once decided to collect a book of Gringo jokes. That would be a good exercise for your Spanish and it would be enlightening for us. In most Latin countries they have jokes about Gringos. Now I know that Americans consider ethnic jokes not politically correct, but in the spirit of cross cultural communication and understanding, it would be good for Americans to know how they are perceived in the humor of other countries and cultures. And besides, we will be laughing only at ourselves. Incidentally, my Gringo joke book never got very far, but all my Latin friends assured me there were several volumes worth of amusing stories. I will look forward to reading more of "Las Aventuras de la Señortita Elizabeta Entre La Gente de San Miguel de Allende. Enjoy, Wallace
25th July 2007

so proud!
Liz-- I am so incredibly proud of you! I saw that you were in Mexico and livin' it up. I always knew you had a bit of crazy in you, and I am so glad that you got to have this experience. I miss you!!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb