Lessons I Learned, Part One


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato » Guanajuato
July 10th 2011
Published: July 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Guanajuato


Dave - Guanajuato PlazaDave - Guanajuato PlazaDave - Guanajuato Plaza

David in the Plaza Mexiamora
On the eve of my first Spanish lesson, I thought I’d share with you what I already learned.

BABIES: Babies don’t speak English or Spanish. If you smile and wave to them, they’re fascinated with you. Moms will smile at you, too, and everybody feels good.

DOGS: Every house has an outdoor dog. They’re mostly for security; the bigger the bark, the better the dog. I have seen quite a few dogs living on roofs, incessantly barking when someone comes near. I always want to pet one, but am afraid. I guess they’re not pets.

C AND F: The C and F on the sink does not mean Cold and Freezing, but rather Caliente and Frio – enough said.

D AND C (or M AND H): David walked into a restroom labeled “M”. He found out the hard way that it meant “Mujeres”, not “Mens”. He should have walked into “H” (Hombres)!

I’ve learned 100% more Spanish in just the week that I’ve been here; unfortunately, I only knew about 10 words to start! I am very confident that I will learn tons more – wish me luck!



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

me - Dolores Hidalgome - Dolores Hidalgo
me - Dolores Hidalgo

Me in the fountain at Dolores Hidalgo
me - Guanajuato musicianme - Guanajuato musician
me - Guanajuato musician

Just me and my mariachi friend


11th July 2011

So Jealous!!!!
Nanci, I'm absolutely loving following your blog, so happy to see you living your dream! Please know that every time you take a moment to post on your status and adventures is much appreciated - love hearing what you are doing, seeing and experiencing!!! Thank you and best wishes for a wonderful adventure!!!!

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb