From Diego Riveras to Don Quixote


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato » Guanajuato
July 3rd 2010
Published: January 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today I planned to visit a few museums and when I tired of that resort to my back up plan of 'wander aimlessly round the teeny streets and take photos of random churches and people's front doors and things'. I began the day with a visit to the Museo Casa Diego Rivera. Following my map I located the red fronted house and gained entry, although unfortunately my camera did not. The downstairs is set up as a museum showing how the house should have looked when the Riveras lived there. Diego Rivera was born in 47 Positos Street and lived within the house until the age of six when the family moved to Mexico City. The upper floors of the museum house various works of Diego Rivera. I walked through the house until at the very top I found an almost empty floor obviously intended for further exhibits.
The next museum I visited was the Don Quixote Museum, which was pretty much over the other side of the town. On arrival I was greeted by the famous lterary character himself, standing full height in the form of a metal sculpture. The museum was started in 1987 and now houses over 800 pieces all related to the character and story of Don Quixote. There is everything from giant oil paintings and sculptures to cps and plates with Don Quixote's image on them.
After the museum I wandered about, had lunch in a small cafe and went on to the city museum which was also quite interesting.
I spent the rest of the afternoon strolling the streets, walking up and down Guanajuato's steep slopes generally getting lost and being surprised to wander full circle to somewhere I recognised. I saw more of Guanajuato's churches and visited the huge marketplace. The market is simply huge. Housed in an otherwise empty building the ground floor is packed with shops and stalls and steps lead up to a balcony above about which throng further stalls. I don't think I have ever seen a market so big and I was soon wandering from one shop to the next. Everything was on sale from food to clothes, antique jewellery to plastic frogs, pirated DVDs to teapots shaped like cows.
I saved my buying for something closer to home, err hostel. I visited the church opposite the market and then wandered through some pretty gardens. Eventually I wound my way back towards my hostel. I stopped at a tiny gift shop near the hostel and explored its overladen shelves with some beautiful handpainted pottery. After a little souvenir shopping I returned to my hostel and passed a long lazy evening in the good company of a book and even found The Mummy on television which reminded me I hadn't managed to make it to Guanajuato's famous mummy museum but oh well... I'll just have to come to Mexico again and do it the next time! 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



29th January 2011

Buildings
Love those colourful buildings and the cobbled streets!

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb