I'm finally here!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato » Guanajuato
January 19th 2009
Published: January 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hola everyone!
Well...I'm finally in Guanajuato, Mexico and I absolutely love it so far. I think it is one of the most beautiful cities that I have ever been too. I got on my plane in O'hare airport yesterday morning and flew into Houston, Texas, from there flew to Leon, Mexico and took a bus ride with other students from my program and met my familia. I almost missed my connecting flight to Leon! That airport is pretty big. The plane to Leon was kinda creepy, I'm not going to lie. It was very skinny, small and shaky, but everything was fine.

When the plane landed in Leon, I felt so odd. I seriously felt like I just flew into summer. My body was so confused! Going from negative wind chill factors to the 70's is not as easy as it sounds. I'm pretty sure my arms got sunburned, and I never get sunburned! Its worth it though! When I to my beautiful house, I kind of had culture shock and I felt kind of lonely, but I feel a million times better today.

My family is pretty awesome. My senora is Fatima, her husband is Eddie, and they have 3 children, Auxi, Fatima and Jesus. Eddie is a surgeon which is awesome. I'd assume that they are all in their 20's. Fatima jr and and Roberto have 2 kids, Julia and Betito, who are seriously adorable. I love them already! I'm learning a lot of Spanish from them, but as of now...I'm not so sure what they are saying to me half the time. There's a dog in the family, her name is Lady and she lives on the roof! Si, on the roof!!! I guess that is normal here.
And Fatima and I are starting to bond a lot. She called me mija today, which is "my daughter" so she is treating me like a really daughter. It's nice. There is also a maid, who I met today, but I think she is like a nanny and a cook too. I didn't catch her name, but she was really nice and cooked me an awesome meal. It was carne con potatas en chile chipotle. UM, yum. The eating times here are a lot different then I'm used to. There's a big breakfast, very very early. About 7 am. Lunch at 3 pm. La Cena is kinda later at night and its very light.

Today, I had orientation and we just did the whole introductions/get to know you thing. I really like ISA the program I'm going through. They are very organized and they are very helpful. You should check them out if you are considering studying abroad. We also went on a city tour, and I took a ton of pictures...as you may see. There are SO many hills. I swear by 5 months, I will have amazing toned legs or maybe man thighs. The streets are cobblestone too and I 've almost face planted more times then a drunk person. And the streets intertwine and curve and there are so many streets. I'm still a little lost. But I don't really mind. The buildings are so colorful and seem like they are painted on a background with mountains touching the clouds. It honestly is breath taking in every sense. There's a lot of pollution here, probably from all the cars. The altitude is high. And you can't help but to keep asking if this beauty is real? It's so alive and you can feel the history of the city by just walking the streets. It's
Christina and IChristina and IChristina and I

@ orientation!
so amazing.

We also rode the Funicular today which is like a elevator train thing. It went up really high to this statue of El Pipila who was a hero from the Mexican independence war.

Anyhow, I'm exhausted and I have test tomorrow. I'll write soon. Love you guys!


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Gigantic Tequilla bottle.Gigantic Tequilla bottle.
Gigantic Tequilla bottle.

I just had to hug it...


20th January 2009

Wow Nancy. I'm jealous. It looks like a really beautiful city, the colors, surrounded by mountains, what more could you ask for. You are going to have an awesome time. Keep up the good work and writing, and good luck on your test manana! -Snatch
20th January 2009

Bienvenidos!
Espero que tu haces un muy buen tiempo!!!!
20th January 2009

I miss you already!
NANCY!!! Just to let you know, man legs are TOTALLY acceptable. In fact, I might even like you more if you have man legs! lol! Keep it spicy! Love love, Karl
20th January 2009

After such a long wait you are finally IN MEXICO! Glad you made it, even though the journey included such a scary plane ride. Your pictures are absolutely gorgeous and I can't wait to see more. I especially love the one of the dog. :)
21st January 2009

awww! I'm sooo glad you are enjoying it! it's ok to be homesick...it will get worse before it gets better but i swear after 3 weeks you will forget all about us in america! haha well not really but it will become your new home. and eventually you will understand almost everything your host family says. it just takes that adjusting period! buena suerte mi amor! te echo de menos y espero que te diviertes! con amor, Bre
21st January 2009

Hola chica!
Hola Chica! (that's all the Spanish i know... i took French) glad to hear you're safe and enjoying Mexico. i look forward to reading more. much love from the yoop! lina
22nd January 2009

NANCY!
I am so glad that you made it safe and sound. The pictures are absolutely gorgeous, and I am loving the pictures and your entries so far. Know that we miss you... send us some warm weather! don't stop believing... Lindsay :)

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.038s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb