Damn It Janet!


Advertisement
Published: May 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, have now arrived in the big MC and it´s not so scary but it is as big as imagined and kinda crowded and kinda tiring... There´s so much to see and do that even though I´m staring down the barrel of my last night and half day in Mexico having arrived last Thursday night I don´t even feel like I´ve started scratching the surface. I do like this city. It´s not your sanitised northern European capital that´s for sure but it still offers everything that a capital in northern Europe does and then some. Some say it offers dirt, grime, and possibly more than it´s fair share of crime but that certainly hasn´t been our experience. We´ve found the people have been ever so friendly and helpful, the streets well, a little dirty, the metro, well a little grimy but heck, there are 20+ million people here so it´s to be expected.

So, you may well wonder how we´ve been spending our time in this city that has so much. Well, let me begin by saying it hasn´t been "conventional". First day we visited the Museum of Light which was a fantastic interactive museum and where a young staff member attempted to explain the physics of light to us in in English. Actually, me and physics are a bad combo so it wouldn´t have made any difference if he had tried to explain it in Spanish bless him. We then followed on by buying wigs? Yes, that's what you do when you´re a tourist isn´t it? In fact, Charlie bought two, "British Candy" and "Bonita" - you can just imagine can´t you - and I bought one, "Janet". We had a lot of fun that evening playing with our new toys.

OK... so now I'm in May 2011 updating a blog I started 3 years ago and I can't for the life of me remember what happened with the other days we spent in MC. I do remember the whole experience of being in a city of 20 million people to be an extremely satisfying one and I would go back in a heartbeat. The food, markets, salsa dancing (not me Charlie), a night of watching lucha libre (Mexican wrestling), museums, art, culture, the central post office - all extraordinary encounters. But now, 3 years on I'm setting my sights on a totally different landscape, the Baltic States. Of that I'll have more to update in my blog shortly. In the meantime, thanks Mexico for the fantastic memories; it'd be great to see you again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb