Final days


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Distrito Federal » Mexico City
October 17th 2011
Published: October 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

And so my final week has counted down. And what a week it was.
Spent alot of time hanging out with my friends, shopping, going out for lunches and singing more karaoke, pulling some rock star poses.
Unfortunately one of those said lunches gave me some food poisoning, so i had to spend a few days holed up feeling sorry for myself. But i wasn't going to let that ruin my last week here, so filled up with medication and headed into town to see a small set of ruins 'Tres culturas'.
Although the ruins are not much to look at, the interesting thing about these is that it contains three periods of Mexican history reflected by those buildings pre-Columbian, Spanish colonial, and the independent "mestizo" nation. This is also the place where the Tlatelolco massacre occured in 1968. Basically there was a peaceful protest going on with students of the local uni, and the police came in blocked the square where the protesters were and started open firing and killed a bunch of people.
It was good to see, but i was feeling pretty sick, so couldn't hang around for very long and needed to get better for the music festival i was going to in the weekend.
Had a few problems with the guy i was staying with, long story.. but basically he ripped me off, and stole some stuff.
So i spent my last few days with my friend Julie, didn't get to go to the festival i have been so eager to see the past 3 months (due to being ripped off). Keeping a positive attitude it was a blessing in disguise, as i got to spend my last few days with some great friends at a mezcal bar, shopping and just hanging out. I will miss them so much when i leave and really hope they will come to NZ so i can show them the kind of hospitality they have showed me.
Thanks so much guys xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Me and my home girlsMe and my home girls
Me and my home girls

Julie & Danniella


Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb