well well well


Advertisement
Published: April 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I´m alive and well in Mexico, in the capital city of Veracruz state- Xalapas. It is frenetic to say the least, a riot of traffic, whistles and fumes.

However before I reached Mexico I had the life changing experience that is American customs and immigration..."was i ever a member of the Nazi government of Germany"...hmmm that´s a tough one. Shortly followed by a pat down search, x ray ing ( during which i had take of my shoes and belt, thought it was going to be touch your toes kinda job but alas no).

Following which I waited in Atlanta and listened to some Mexican ppl speaking and realised quite how fucked I am, because I understand none of it. After 3 hours of turbluence during which I came close to losing my superb airline lunch of something pretending to be pizza, I landed in Mexico city.

TO be confronted with the riot that is Mexico city is scary enough during day but at night with the added bonus of the drug dealers, hookers and pimps I was somewhat terrified. I hopped in an official airport taxi and praying not to get car jacked was whisked away. Caning through streets just wide enough for a bike, in a Ford station wagon was somewhat terrifying, especially when he locked the doors to prevent us getting into ´trouble´at red lights.

Along the way I have met; Ali a Bangledeshi UPS driver who lives in Atlanta but still cannot fill out their customs forms and Ricardo a Mexican biology student with terrible burns on his arms. Mine is a somewhat bizaare life.

Despite a spot of sunstroke i´m doing ok i´m somewhat bewildered. heading to palenque in a few days to stare at some ruins.

TOM

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb