Inquisition


Advertisement
Published: July 30th 2002
Edit Blog Post

After all I've read and seen about the barbarous behaviour of the Aztec civilisation a fitting end to stay in Mexico City seemed to be a trip to the Inquisition. The Inquisition is a touring exhibit of torture devices from throughout the centuries, mostly from Europe. Some of the ways which were devised to kill, maim and disable were horrific. From simple floggings to the gruesome sophistication of the Electric Chair, it seems that the Aztecs did not have a monopoly on horrendous treatment of others. I visited the muesuem with Shane and Regina and Linda - two middle-aged American women who were travelling without their husbands... as they don't like hostels and carrying backpacks. They demonstrated again that my preconceptions about people that travel are often wrong.

Drank with Boghen, Ramsey and Shane. Ramsey is an American Spanish teacher. I can now say how many beers I drank the previous day, and how many beers I will drink tomorrow - apparently there is some principle in this that I can extend to other verbs - I will have to learn some other verbs to be able to do this. Tomorrow Boghen travels to Veracruz and I to Oaxaca. The end of Chapter Two, the beginning of Chapter Three. It's been a pleasure travelling with Robbie over the last three weeks (or so). Seems like a lot longer. Travelling leads to the acceleration of friendships, I feel that I've known him for years, the same with Matt. We hope to meet up after a few weeks, maybe in Veracruz, Guatamala, or Oaxaca... but plans change. I may go to Cuba... so may Robbie - who knows...

The pope is to arrive tomorrow at Mexico City, El Papa... not to be confused with La Papa, which I did for a while. La Papa is the potato.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0174s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb