Art and Boats


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Distrito Federal » Mexico City
August 23rd 2007
Published: August 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The house where Frida and Diego lived.The house where Frida and Diego lived.The house where Frida and Diego lived.

The 2 houses were joined by a bridge so that they could each have their own space.
I really like Mexico City! I had heard so many dodge things about it and thought that it'd be really scary, but it's not at all! I don't feel any more scared here than I would in London. Obviously I'm not waving wads of dosh about or walking down dark alleyways, but I do feel quite safe here.

It wasn't raining today, so that was a good start already. Having rewatched the film "Frida" before I set off, I decided that it would be appropriate to find out a bit more about Frida Kahlo and her on/off husband Diego Rivera.

First I went to the house they shared which was used in the actual film. Lots of interesting artefacts and info inside. Then onto ´The Blue House´ where Frida grew up and died. Again, very interesting but I won´t bore you with the facts.

Then to Xochomilco (pronounced So-cho-milko) which was fabulous! It is south of Mexico city, and there are squillions of brightly painted boats which are a mixture between barges and gondolas. Load of Mexican families visit here on the weekend, but as it was a weekday it was quite quiet. There are Mariarchi bands (is
The Blue HouseThe Blue HouseThe Blue House

Frida Kahlo was born and died here.
that how you spell it?!?) that sail along and then jump onto your boat to play songs for you.

We sailed past a really bizarre place where there were loads of dolls with missing body parts hanging from trees. Quite scary!

We also had a tiny boat pull alongside us with a little stove and cook us dinner! It was so sweet! My last day in MC was fab. Next stop, Puebla.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Diego Rivera muralDiego Rivera mural
Diego Rivera mural

This is one he originally painted for the Rockafeller Centre in New York, but they ripped it down because he painted Stalin in it. So he repainted it in Mexico.
Mariachi bandMariachi band
Mariachi band

Playing "La Bamba"!!!


28th August 2007

THANK THE LORD FOR COLOUR
Quite possibly the most Colourful set of Photos I think I've ever seen.... hope you've taken your shades! It all looks amazing, hope you're well. Mx
28th August 2007

culture vulture lady
I never knew you was so cultured with your arty Frida knowlege - only joking I know you are a cultured amd artistic lady you just pretend not to be! ho, ho! melly xxx
30th August 2007

We're so loving this Sophie, it's so very nice that you're still tutoring the boys only this time it's geography...and it's FREE !!! Your adventures sound fantastic. Take care and have fun. The Davis Family

Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 15; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0864s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb