Episode 3 - Xochimilco


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Distrito Federal » Mexico City
February 6th 2007
Published: February 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post



Today i headed to Xochimilco to see the island of the dolls...
but first i had to book my night bus ticket to aoxaca, and also do some shoppping, found a great district for computer software and dvds, so if anyone wants anything let me know!

anyway then it was off on the train. i arrived at xochilmilco and it was very sweet with awesome markets and ppl, and made my waydown to one of the canals. by this time it was about 3pm (ihad intended to be there at about 10am!) and the piers were all but deserted. a lady put me on a boat and charged me a shit load of money and so we floated away. at this point is occered to me that i was carrying all my valuables and was on a boat in the middle of god knows where all alone with only the guy who was rowing.... so i shoved al my money down my top while he wasnt looking haha. but it turns out i didnt need to anyway thank god.

the canals were amazingly beautifull and the island of the dolls was just incredible.

the island is actually one big art work. years ago a girl drowned near by and her ghost was said too haunt the place. so one day an artist from near by began to fish as many dolls and toys from the canals that he could find. he hung these from tree all over the island as an offereing to placate the ghost... the effect is very spooky, most of the dolls are rotting or missing limbs, and a lot of them are hanging from their necks like in a noose.

it was even better as there was no one around, just me my driver and te two guys who look after the place. one of the was young and hardly spoke any english but went out of his way to give me a tour and show me anything i wanted, and then offerred me some tequila. so i ended up sitting around taking tequila shots with these three guys surrounded by the spooky setting, it was great!!

apart from being slightly molested on the train it was a perfect day!!

i ad my bus booked for 8 so i chilled by the bar untill about 7 just chatting wit my bar boy and then grabbed a cab to the bus station. while i was in the cab it occured to me that my passport was still in the safty deposit box at the hostel. i know what ur thinking but i actually hadnt forgotten it. i had handed in my key, asked for it back, got my deposit back and everything, and they had said they would bring it to me, so i waited and then i just left haha i guess cos in my mind i had crossed that off the list of things to do.
so we sped back to the hostel and i ran in and got it, and then when i came out my taxi driver was gone and he had put my bags in with another taxi who was waiting for me, so i went with him but arrived to find the first taxi driver had forgotten one of my bags! i missed the bus of course. and i had alreay checked out of the hostel aswell.so annoying!! but sweet adriane pulled me off the side and said quietly that he knew a place that was the same price (as a bed in a dorm at the hostel) but were i would have my own room and bathroom! he sometimes stayed there when he finished work to late to get home.

i was a bit worried about this as last time a guy told me something like that i arrived at the room to find there was only one bed and a mirror on the roof and on every wall!!!

but he was a total gentleman about it, the room was very good for the price, two double beds which was soo nice for a change! and my own bathroom! i had a shower for like an hour it was gloriouse!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb