Train Ride El Chepe


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Chihuahua » Copper Canyon
September 26th 2015
Published: September 26th 2015
Edit Blog Post

http://www.chepe.com.mx/ I am so excited that I was not able to sleep last night so I was up by 5:00 am. My bus didn’t leave until 9:00 am so I took my shower and had me eggs and bacon with potatoes and bean with some red hot sauce, with some coffee. My friend woke up and talked to me about what I shouldn’t do and have my things close to me. Also where to stay and what to see and not to go out at night in Guadalajara because I might end up in the wrong place. He also gave me a name of a hotel I should stay at and it’s close to town. The ticket only cost me 497 peso and that only 32.00 dollars so I load the bus and someone had thru up on my seat, that looked like a bad sign of things to come. So I clean it up and almost thru up myself but did ok.



So here we go we are on our way and it’s raining and I am glad I am not driving. We stop along the way and pick up more people and three Indian woman and she sits by me, dose not say a work just sit there and witch the TV don’t think she own one or she doesn’t want to look at me they get off about there town down the road and then she looks at me and smiles. We stop for a fifteen min break and I get down and get me a bean and egg burrito and prayed that it wouldn’t make me sick I didn’t want to use the bathroom until I get to my hotel room. So we get to Chihuahua and I get off the bus and start looking for a Taxi and loads my things and we are off the my hotel, but it was way out of town about 20 miles from the train depot and I have to be there at 5:00 am so I can pay for my train ticket. No problem I have them get me up a 4:00 am I shower and dress and I am ready by 4:30 am they call my taxi and he there in about 2 min and he has me at the station in 15 min there was no traffic at that time and that was good. The doors open at 5:00 am but no one at the tickets office, finally someone gets to the window and I show the guy my reservation number and looks at me like what are you showing me and I explain to him that I got it over the internet and said I don’t have that number and looks up my name and couldn’t find it either and for me not to worry we have plenty of seats I just have to pay on the train, why didn’t they tell me that on the web site.

So I am on the train they give me my seat number and it’s a nice train real clean and first class that mean I pay more money and get to dine on the dining car also can get off and on the train. The ticket was only 155.00 dollars to Canyon de Cobre and then to Los Mochis. We left on time at 7:00 am and it’s still dark outside and it’s a quit ride and rocking back and forth and I just want to sleep but there a six old couples from Mexico City and all they do is talk and joke
More Apples More Apples More Apples

Never seen so many apples
around and one thing about Mexican woman when they talk they sing and they are loud and they want everyone to hear them they drive me nuts but real friendly and we are taking each other picture and I am talking with them. They want to know where I come from and my age and we become friends. It’s time to go to the dining car and I am ready because I am starving and I place my order and they get my coffee and fresh fruit. My order comes and its eggs over easy potato’s and beans with chili it was good. The sun is up and I can see mountain, small lakes and rivers and its been raining a lot we are just cruising along about 75 miles hour until we come to a town and every one waive at us as we are going a long we stop once and a while to pick up more people they all get on second class makes me feel rich. Every time we stop there is these four guys that run to where the people are going to get it and the have there M16 rifle ready for some action scared the hell out of me the first time that happen I said O shit. Every place you look they have the Army or something like that FBI undercover. So I get to my seat and I know I am going to need the bathroom here soon so I look for a bathroom and everyone is thing the same thing so I wait and wait they better make it quick or I might just lose something. So the bathroom is free and I get over there before someone beats me to it so I sit down on the toilet and the water is just whirling around and my ass is getting wet and I don’t think I am going to have to wipe because I think its cleaning me up good so I just dry my butt and leave. I go back and sit down and cannot sleep these people just talking away. I get my GoPro and my camera and I walk where the car hock up and the window is open the air is just blowing in and I stick my head out of the window and start taking pictures and making movies of my trip. I enjoyed watching the farmers working and picking apples there were fields of apples never seen so many apples trees. There were cows and horses cowboys on their houses as we went by. Then we start getting into the mountains and going thou tunels and everything would get dark and these woman would yell every time we went thru one , I think they never been out of there town before but they are just happy people not use the that. So I get to my distention six hours later and they pick us up and I go to my hotel. I check myself in and head to my room and it’s a nice room, I leave the things and they had food ready for us and it is fish cooked in aluminum foil its call Pescado envuelto and it was good after lunch I went to my room and took a nap. By the time I did get up it was 10:00 pm and took a shower and went to bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

The ChepeThe Chepe
The Chepe

The Front of the train as it makes a turn.
Me Looking outMe Looking out
Me Looking out

Had one of the lady's take my picture.
Stopped for more passengersStopped for more passengers
Stopped for more passengers

Some old house with goats eating.
My HotelMy Hotel
My Hotel

Hotel Mansion Tarahumara
Nice RoomNice Room
Nice Room

The only problem is that you can hear your neighbors talking and snoring. But they can also hear me.
Dog Dog
Dog

This friendly dog takes care of the place look at his eyes looks like he is blind.


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb