Lazy day in San Cristobal


Advertisement
Published: August 11th 2002
Edit Blog Post

Finally a lazy day. Travelling can be hard work. Bus journeys that last 24hrs or more. Trekking through humidity and heat. Worrying about not spending much money, and therefore staying in hotels that you wouldn't normally tolerate because they're cheap. A lie in at the nasty hotel followed by a day spent wandering around the markets and churches of San Cristobal.

I brought some random fruit, a Papaya - large green, smelling of melon from the outside, orange and tasting like a cross between melon and banana inside. Pachuyra (I think), green scales on the outside, inside succulent milky flesh surrounding seeds, I can't describe the flavour but it was sweet and pleasant. Panches, small yellow cherry like fruit that tasted of cheese. I didn't like them. In the square we were accosted by a small girl selling traditional crafts, after the obligatory "no gracious", I caught her eyeing up the panches. I offered some to the girl, and soon we were surrounded by about 10 of them, all hands held out to get the nasty little fruit. I was happy to be rid of them and the girls were really pleased to get them, worth the two pesos for the bag just to see the smiles and laughs.

Reena had met a group of Spanish travellers in Mexico city. In San Cristobal she spotted them again. Aitor, Aitor, Carlos and Lourine, they spoke about as much English as we Spanish. Reena speaks more Spanish than I do - but I'm quicker with my pigeon responses, which annoys her. She gets to the point where the correct response is sorted out, correct grammar, impressive vocabulary, opens her mouth, and I've already responded in a combination of Tarzan like phrases and sign language and the next phrase is being returned. It's a lot of fun, and the guys were really friendly, I hope to bump into them again. They are hiring a car to travel around Central America, apparently travelling is easier here with more than pigeon Spanish. Beers and then bed, tomorrow Guatemala, need to wake at 5am.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



17th April 2004

Just because...
Hi, I enjoyed your descpiion on the says you all spent in San Cristobal..i loved the pictures and the peronal stories. Its great to read about what an exciting trip you all had, I am actually researching on the San Cristobal, because I have a presenation on S.C.... It was great reading it... have more fun on your other trips :) -JC

Tot: 0.276s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 27; qc: 128; dbt: 0.1766s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb