Apocalypto


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Chiapas » Palenque
August 29th 2008
Published: September 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 331 - Tuesday 26 August

The bus dropped us off in Palenque about seven in the morning and we checked ourselves into a nearby hotel. As the bus driver for some reason had been playing music all through the night and we´d had to all get off the bus when it refuelled at four I'd had a lot of broken sleep. It was off straight to bed.

I was up just after lunchtime and we went to have a walk around the town. Its just like many other small towns I've visited, rather pleasant. As its such a warm day though I soon decided to leave it until later this afternoon and used the hotel pool instead.

Early evening we carried on our eploration of the town. As its such a warm night we didn't get far and stopped for a beer before getting a cheap dinner. Even though I still haven't finished researching what I'm going to do in Mexico, I hit the internet to start planning America, the last leg of my journey.

Day 332 - Wednesday 27 August

Up early yet again to do more sightseeing. This time were off to the ruins belonging to the Mayan empire. They look the same as the temples in the film Apocalypto where the people are sacrificed and their heads rolled down the steps.

We were all done by lunchtime and as it was so humid I jumped straight into the hotel pool to cool off. Were moving on yet again so after only a short dip I had to check out.

I spent the afternoon on the internet looking at transport. Its really expensive here compared to most countries I have visited and I know America is going to make a big hole in my remaining budget but I think I can save some money by taking some flights.

At 5pm we waited for our bus to take us to Cancun. We've gone with the cheapest company in town to save some money but the bus looks a bit like a chicken bus. I hope it will be alright.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.1332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb