Ensenada - Crown Princess


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Baja California
November 16th 2014
Published: November 16th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Ensenada is not a place to which I would return. It’s small, run down, and pretty sketchy. We just planned on walking around the shops at the cruise terminal, but Michelle and John talked us into walking to town. We crossed the bridge over the little creek (which was filled with litter and tires) and right away ran into kids selling stuff. I’m not joking when I say that I think the little girl here was four years old. There were no adults around and you couldn’t help but feel depressed for these kids. This would be a good thing for our spoiled youth to see, however, I wouldn’t feel safe letting them off the boat! The next issue was that the map the Princess handed out was wrong. It showed the shopping and such to the right, which was actually to the left. We didn’t figure that out until we were in the middle of the sketch and had to turn around. We ran into a couple that asked why we were going back because the shopping was supposed to be down there. WRONG. We all started heading in the right direction and found some shops. Everything was dirt cheap
Ensenada cruise terminalEnsenada cruise terminalEnsenada cruise terminal

The shopping is in those buildings
and felt more authentic than at the cruise shops. That makes sense. We kept pushing a little further into the town once we got more comfortable. The street had several outdoor cafes, which was actually really nice. We found a shop that had a ton of souvenirs…in the basement. Well considering that two old ladies ran it, we took the chance and headed down. I’m glad we did because Kris and I found two really pretty canvas paintings sitting in a pile on the floor. $12 each (they wouldn’t come down at all) and we walked away with the Nancy Lee flower paintings. After that, we booked it back to the port. It wasn’t as bad as I was thinking it was going to be, but I would not take my family there (hell, I didn’t even take my camera off the boat!).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb