Leaving Bahia de Concepcion and on to Loreto......


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Baja California Sur
February 24th 2007
Published: February 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday, the 23 February, was another beautiful day here. I actually slept in until almost 9 am! Very unusual. I actually got up at 7 am and was going to catch the sunrise but it was cloudy so I went back to bed!

The venders come right here to the beach to sell their goods--vegetables, fruits, t-shirts, eggs, milk, fresh shrimp and scallops and crafts. We bought fresh shrimp here yesterday and it was so fresh. They were huge too but the bad thing is that you have to devein them. That is gross! Earlier we bought some fruit empanadas which turnovers and some fresh tamales all for $3.00. I had bought a little jacket yesterday in town and got the price I wanted to pay!!

The day before yesterday, we got to know our neighbors here from Wisconsin. They are avid kayakers and invited us to take them out for a try. Mike and I did go out in them and it really is not hard to do. The hardest part is getting in and out! We think it might be something we might want to do. Today I went out with Barb and we paddled over to
Out on the island in the Bay.....Out on the island in the Bay.....Out on the island in the Bay.....

I canNOT remember what kind of bird this is.....
the island across from our RV. It was so beautiful. I saw my first Blue Footed Boobie--it is a bird with blue webbed feet! I also saw lots of starfish and other tropical fish. The water is crystal clear. The wind picked up on the way back, and it was a little more difficult but not that bad. I can see how it can help build the upper body and arm muscles. Earlier in the day Barb’s husband went out and was surrounded by a bunch of dolphins who put on a great show for him. One even jumped up in the air and dived down into the water. He had his camera and was ready to shoot but the battery
had gone dead!

We were able to get online yesterday and do a little updating on the blog. I realize that I have taken far too many pictures! We have met so many neat people who have done a LOT of adventuring in Mexico. And even more folks who are full timing and enjoying every minute of it.

We had Bill and Barb in for dinner tonite in return for letting us go out in their kayaks
Blue footed BoobieBlue footed BoobieBlue footed Boobie

Yes, that is the bird's actual name!!!! The feet are a beautiful hue of blue but you can't really see it here
and for showing us the ropes of how to maneuver the boats. We cooked our shrimp, and served it with refried beans, tortillas, salad and Barb brought rice! We had a great visit with them and hope to meet up with them again.

The pics are from my kayaking adventure............


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Pelican shot from the KayakPelican shot from the Kayak
Pelican shot from the Kayak

The birds are not at all afraid of us...


24th February 2007

question
Are there sharks in those their waters?
24th February 2007

Cool!
Kath, I loved these pics. It was fun looking at birds I hadn't seen before, except for the pelican. The water looks absolutely wonderful. I can see why you are enjoying yourself so much. Love, Sue

Tot: 0.265s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb